Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Got Pumpkins?

Posted on: October 15, 2008

Fun things to do with your pumpkins:

******************************************************

Stephenie Meyer’s Midnight Sun:

Hey, did you TWILIGHT readers know that Stephenie is working on a 5th book?  I didn’t know! 

You can read about it here (and read the first chapter!):  Midnight Sun

I also came across another Twilight poster:

 

Yeah, I’m a little obsessed…

 

**********************************************************************

Crock Potted!

This is one of my all-time favorite crock pot recipes.  It’s easy, always, turns out good, reheats well, and everyone I’ve ever made it for likes it:

Beef and Chinese Pea Pods (or Sugar Snap Peas)

1.5 – 2 ilbs. Flank Steak (also called Skirt Steak)

10 0z. can of Condensed Beef Consomme (Campbell’s)

1/3 Cup Low Salt Soy Sauce

1/4 tsp Ground Ginger

1 bunch Green Onions, thinly sliced

Near Serving Time:

2 Tbls Cornstarch mixed with 2 Tlbs Water  

2 boxes frozen Sugar Snap Peas, thawed

Cooked Rice

Directions:  Slice steak, against the grain, into diagonal 1/4 inch slices (partially frozen works well).  Combine Soup, Soy Sauce, Ginger, & Onions in crock pot – add beef, stirring to fully coat.  Cover and cook on LOW for 5 – 7 Hours.  (Meat becomes very tender and will fall apart if cooked on high or stirred during cooking).  Near Serving time turn pot to HIGH and add the cornstarch mixture, stirring gently.  Cover for 10 mins then add the thawed Sugar Snap peas for 5 minutes.  Serve over rice.  YUM!

 

***********************************************************

Wicked – What’s Your Review? 

I picked this up at Costco the other day:

 

I haven’t staretd it but today is a dark, rainy day here in IL and I think it’s the perfect day to curl up with a good book – But is it a good book? 

 

********************************************************

TV Talk –

Thanks to my DVR, that has been faithfully recording shows for me, I finally watched a few new Fall shows.   Here are my reviews:

The Ex List – Cute, Funny, Light-Hearted – I really enjoyed it and especially liked the the lead actress – Elizabeth Reaser.  I couldn’t place her for the longest time but she’s “the girl” from Grey’s Anatomy (that played Alex’s faceless love interest and then became mentally unstable…) 

Yeah, HER!  She’s adorable in this!

Fringe – I like it – don’t LOVE it, yet… I like Joshua Jackson’s character, confident smart-ass and his father, John Noble, is really entertaining!  It has a “conspiracy theory” that runs through every episode… I would prefer if it was like The X-Files early years and just told freaky stories each week without the overall conspiracy… But it’s worth a view!

Okay, This one’s not totally “New” but I just discovered it and really liked it:

The Cleaner – Could Benjamin Bratt get much hotter!? It’s so unfair how some guys just get better and better with age… I like this one. It’s based a on real life story about a guy who broke his drug addiction and dedicated his life to saving other’s from theirs. It’s interesting and you can watch all the episodes on-line.

 

Alrighty then… Do something N*I*C*E for yourself today! ~ Angie

***************************************************************

6 Responses to "Got Pumpkins?"

omg – I totally LOVE those pumpkin photos! Especially that 2nd one! I’m going to have to figure out how to do that – my kids would love it!

My husband watches the fringe. I don’t like it – and I was an avid X-Files fan (but only with David Duchovny).

I think that first pumpkin photo is hilarious! Thank you for visiting my blog and your prayers for my son are much appreciated!

I did the puking one last year for a work contest and won. Fun stuff!

Love the photos. Would love to do the first one at our house. So our style, LOL!

HAHAHA!! LOVE the pumpkin pictures!! Too funny!! Thanks for your visit to my blog!!

I am so going to try this recipe, I make a similar stir fry version, but this sounds much easier! My hubby loves soy sauce!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

