Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

2 Weeks CHEAT-FREE!!

Posted on: January 19, 2010

What a difference 2 weeks can make!  I’m feeling soooooo much better!  I began my weight loss journey on Jan 5th and am so proud that I haven’t even had the slightest of falters yet!  I’m not naive enough to believe tht my whole journey will be cheat-free but I’ve been working so hard and am really surprised at the changes I’ver already noticed:

  • My taste buds are so much more sensitive… I’ve fallen in love with Ruby Red Grapefruit and don’t even need to put Splenda on it anymore.
  • I’ve never been a water-lover so I drink the Aquafina Flavor Splash sweetened with Splenda – lately it tastes too sweet.
  • With all the water I’ve been drinking my skin has cleared up, it feels softer, and even my “scaly” heels have gotten softer!
  • Exercise has always been a chore for me.  This time, I discovered Bikram Yoga (a very aggressive form of yoga done for 90 minutes in a 105 degree room) and am really enjoying the challenge.  It’s a competition with myself – no one else.  It clears my mind and for that 90 minutes my mind is focused on me, mastering the poses (which I’m far from doing), and not giving up.  I’ve never sweated like this before in my life and it feels empowering and cleansing.  Part of me dreads the thought of going, I still get scared (can I do it again?), but when I’m done – the feeling of pride is overwhelming and amazing.
  • My clothes already fit better – I’m wearing shirts from my closet that I couldn’t wear just 2 weeks ago.
  • I’m sleeping better
  • I have more energy
  • My mind is clear
  • I’d rather DO something than waste time on the computer and in front of the tv

It hasn’t been easy.  The first 4 days of getting off the “smack” (sugar, pop, caffeine, nutritionless carbs, fat, salt) I felt pretty crappy.  But then I sarted to feel pretty good.  By eating every 2-3 hours I’m not hungry, which helps me to stay on plan.  I’m adding things slowly this time.  Week 1 was about getting the hang of the eating plan and taking care of the necessary doctor appts that I needed to get done.  Week 2 has been about adding exercise and supplements.  I’m looking long term and am NOT weighing myself.

I took a picture of myself wearing an outfit that is FAR from fitting.  Every 5 weeks or so I’m going to retake that picture.  I’m excited to see the differences but am a little worried, too – I’m working so hard and will be quite disappointed if the results don’t show it.  That’s a big fear I have – getting disappointed in the past usually derailed my efforts.  I’ll fight that fight when it happens…

On Feb 13th J and I are going to a dinner dance. I have a few dresses in my closet that don’t fit today… I WILL fit into one of them by the 13th.  I WILL.

I have other goals – but those are what I’m focusing on right now.

I haven’t had any real struggles and expect that it won’t be long before “something” comes up.  I’m feeling really strong, though.  I’m feeling capable of doing this.  I love feeling proud of myself.

~ Now, go do something that makes you proud of yourself, too.~

Angie

Weight gain isn’t something that sneaks up on you – it’s invited.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

