Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

I refuse to count calories or watch the scale!

Posted on: January 24, 2010

I’m following the 6-week body makeover which allows me to not have to count calories – YES!  I hate having to count!  But I HAVE realized that I’m counting other things such as – how long I’ve been cheat-free, how many days I’ve exercised, how many yoga classes I’ve gone to, and how many green teas I’ve had each day…  I wonder when this new way of eating/living will become such a habit that I no longer find it necessary to count?

I’m thrilled that I HAVE been able to resist the urge to count the pounds I’ve lost on the scale, though!  I’ve realized that to keep my eyes on my long term goal I simply cannot be obsessed with the short term numbers on the scale.  This is a big step for me.  It’s hard to do, but I know it’s the right thing.  The previous times I’ve tried to lose this weight, using the scale as my measuring stick, have left me discouraged because the numbers moved down too slowly.  This time I won’t be a slave to the damn scale.

I have a little over 100 pounds to drop.  My dad has offered to pay for me to get some help (shoes, nutritionist, classes, trainer, whatever I’d like to try).  He lives in TX and I saw him over Christmas and probably won’t see him again until August.  Besides his offer giving me extra motivation (I don’t want to waste his money), I’ve also realized that if I only drop only 10 pounds a month I’d have dropped 80 pounds by the time I see him again.  That’s H*U*G*E (in a good way for a change – ha, ha!).  That’s a long time for me to stay the course, though.  It’s a little scary, actually.  I’ve never made it past a couple of months before and I’m a notorious quitter.  I’m afraid the longer I work at it, the scarier it will get because it would make a failure an even bigger failure.  That’s a negative thought, I know.  But it’s a real fear and will be an additional hump to get over besides things like cravings, depression, the occasional lack of energy or motivation, etc…  Losing weight is hard but having a tangible fear of failure is hard, too….  I sure hope that the longer I hang on – the easier, more habitual it gets.  I can’t wait to get to the point that I no longer count the days and workouts I’ve reached… It’s a dreamy thought I tell ya!

I’ve got yoga in 2 hours… I dread and anticipate it at the same time!  But I’ll be there!  It’ll be my 6th class…  I hate, HATE, H*A*T*E the counting!!  One day I’ll stop, right?

~ Another day – another chance to succeed! – Angie 

1 Response to "I refuse to count calories or watch the scale!"

It is hard not becoming a slave to the scale! I only do it once a week; resist the urge to look every day. Weight is so up and down that obsessing is not good! Good for you! Hope yoga was nice 🙂
-Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

