Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

The struggle has officially arrived…

Posted on: January 26, 2010

Well, I’ve reached the 3wk mark in my weight loss adventure and the real struggle has begun.  I think my initial excitement and motivation is dwindling… I didn’t feel my best yesterday but MADE myself go to yoga anyway. I ended up having the worst session ever – even worse than my 1st session.  I was dizzy and couldn’t breathe through the poses or catch my breath.  I literally layed down for almost half of the class.  Staying in that 100 degree room, feeling sooooo bad, was harder than hard and the only success of the session.  For the first time in 3wks I was disappointed in myself.  I did such a bad session that I’m seriously afraid to go back!  What if it happens again?

This is the time that I’d usually cave and try to lift my spirits with junk food.  I won’t – the want is just very strong today.  I don’t have a history of being able to control that want… I’ve got a little mantra reverberating through my mind ‘Today is another chance to succeed”, “Today is another chance to succeed”, “Today is another chance to succeed”.  I’m saying it, I’m just not feeling it.

No one can do this for me – that’s a scary truth.  I’m the only one that can keep this feeling from snowballing into a major “FAIL”.  How to do that… how to do that…  This is new territory for me.  Here’s how I plan to get through the day:

Focus just on today and making it through the day

Take a little time to take care of myself, showering, shaving my legs, putting lotion on, maybe doing my nails

Motor through the laundry I’ve been putting off – getting it done will give me a good feeling of accomplishment

Go to the calming breathing class at the YMCA

Resist the urge to crawl back in bed and nap

Turn the tv off, strap on my iPod and dance through my chores

Call my dad and give him an update on my success so far

 Okay, Angie, that’s the plan.  One day at a time, one hour at a time if that’s what keeps me moving forward.  I’m off the shower then the Y. One step in front of the other…

~ I sure could use some good thoughts and prayers pointed in my direction today – Thanks, Angie

 

3 Responses to "The struggle has officially arrived…"

Way to stay in control and keep perspective!! Keep to your action plan and you’re going to be so proud of yourself at the end of the day. This is the part where the majority of people fail, three weeks in, just keep focused and push through.

(in Rob Schneider’s voice ala Waterboy) You can do it!!!!!

Great goals for they day, I know you can do them!! Resist temptation, you will be happier in the long run 🙂 good luck today!

Hey there, Angie! Thanks for checking out my blog.

I just got back from my grandmother’s funeral in NC on Monday evening and, well, I’m kind of stuck with my weightloss. No motivation to do anything. In other words, what you’re doing is head and shoulders above what I’m doing right now, so BE PROUD OF YOURSELF!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

