Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

~ Moments of Joy ~

Posted on: February 2, 2010

Not much weight-related “stuff” to update but it’s been a couple of days…

A few small feathers ~ Moments of Joy ~ in my cap over the last couple of days:

  1. Today is my 4 week anniversary – TOTALLY cheat-free – I’ve been overweight and trying to lose for a decade and don’t think I’ve ever gone 4 weeks cheat-free! CHEAT-FREE, baby!
  2. I fit into a knit shirt, straight from the dryer, WITHOUT having to s-t-r-e-t-c-h it out, that I couldn’t wear AT ALL (even after stretching on it) just 4 weeks ago!
  3. I’ve never met a brussels sprout that I liked but I tried them roasted and actually liked them (gotta start adventuring into some new veggies for some variety)!  Next time I’ll try the on-plan dip with them.
  4. I’ve gone to so many yoga classes that I FINALLY lost track of how many – it’s slowly becoming a habit, instead of a chore that I have to make sure I squeeze in often enough. ( This feather makes me particularly  H*A*P*P*Y!)
  5. I was soooo close to caving in and buying the kids McDonald’s for dinner (cuz I was too tired to cook) but I fought through it and made a quick breakfast-for-dinner meal instead.
  6. Yesterday I couldn’t make the early evening yoga class – that I prefer – and was very close to talking myself out of going to the 7 pm class.  I had some good excuses, but MADE myself go anyway – it’s possible the argument w/ my 13 year-old before class also gave me some motivation!
  7. Lastly, I started keeping a food journal.  I’m going to post it weekly

~Your turn – share your feathers ~Moments of Joy ~ with me 😀 – Angie

**********************************************

7 Responses to "~ Moments of Joy ~"

Wow! Okay… I am 5 weeks and no cheats:) Also doing yoga – for 5 weeks. And I never ever tried brussel sprouts but you may inspire me.

Sounds like you are doing great!

I think roasting makes any vegetable better (though, to be honest, I haven’t met a vegetable I don’t like). Good for you for not caving in to the McD’s urge!

Great NSV’s (non scale victories)! I love brussel sprouts! I’m trying to get new veggies in, too. This week it will be sunchokes!

Good feathers!!! No cheats, yoga, clothes fitting, resisting McDonald’s. Huzzah! I personally love veggies, and Brussels sprouts are a favorite – try them roasted or stir-fried!!

Congrats! That’s really awesome. I’m having a lousy day, so I’ll have to think of some of my own feathers!

Random question: Why is the “Isla de Angela – practicing inner peace (outloud)” September 08 post always the one at the top of blog? I got so confused! 🙂

Random question: Why is theSeptember 08 post always on top? I wanted to keep my slide show at the top of the blog! 😀 Sorry if it’s confusing, I never considered that it might be?! I wonder if I edit it if the date will change…

Nah, I think I was only confused because I didn’t know what it was! 🙂 No worries.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

