Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Bummed by the Turkeys Today

Posted on: February 5, 2010

Sigh.  I don’t feel up to yoga tonight.  I’ve gone the last 5 days in a row and wanted to make it 6 but I’m just can’t find the motivation.  My son (13) got THREE letters home this week from THREE different teachers regarding bad grades, missing assignments, overall lack of effort, and attitude problems.  He’s in 8th grade and has NEVER even had one of these types of letters and this week he got THREE!  I’m bummed, really bummed.

It’s also my “special” time of the month.  Bummer.

My husband’s been gone all week and is returning tonight.  The house isn’t very clean.  Okay, the house is NOT clean.  He won’t care, but I care.  Sigh.  Bummed again.

It’s 3:30 and I STILL haven’t showered today.  Guess that means I’ve got a stinky bum? 

ACCKKK ! @ # $ % &* !  I just wanna hide in bed with a book, a coke, a bag of Fritos, and some Reese’s PB Cups (the action which has resulted in my current big bum). 

From Jan. 5th – until Feb. 5th my kids have only eaten “out” twice – an amazing, amazing feat in our house – truly amazing.  But I don’t want to cook tonight.  I actually don’t even care if they eat tonight!  Maybe I’d find some sense of enjoyment over watching THEM eat the Fritos and PB Cups for me?  Not that their bums need any more padding, either.

Oh wait!  Having Fritos and PB Cups would mean I’d have to do the grocery shopping that I was SUPPOSED to do today.  Am I bumming you out?     

Although NOT an improvement, at least this addresses my last post about being preoccupied with my weight loss efforts… Now I’m preoccupied with being bummed.

~ I guess I’ll have to hang on to the fact that I WILL remain on-plan as the only bright spot in my day… My freakin’ bummin’ day.  – Angie

3 Responses to "Bummed by the Turkeys Today"

Sorry you are having a crappy day – but glad to see you plan to stay OP. That can be extra hard when emotions are high. My kids are usually happy when I don’t cook because they can make frozen pizzas and other processed stuff. Or go out. (Both drive.) Tomorrow is another, better day!

Do what you need to stay on track. You can do it!

Sorry you had a crappy day…just remember to feel the feelings instead of stuff them down with a cake (or Fritos). It’s easy to let the emotions get the best of you…hang in there.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

