Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Losing Weight Feels Like a FULL Time Job!

Posted on: February 5, 2010

Does anyone else feel that this weight loss journey is a FULL-TIME JOB

This healthy life-style and my weight loss goals are always on my mind.  I eat every 2 – 3 hours so I’m always aware of what time is and when I’m supposed to eat again.  What am I going to eat (not because I’m hungry but just to make sure I’m getting the right amount of protein, veggies, fruit, etc…)?  Did I take my morning supplements?  Should I exercise once or twice today?  Can I actually do it twice, I want to, but can I?  What time is yoga tonight, 4:30 or 5:00 (I don’t even question going anymore – I just go)?  Do I bother showering and putting make-up on today since I’m not leaving the house until yoga?  Do I have anything, of interest, to post to my blog?  Have I had enough to drink today?  What am I making the kids for dinner so I don’t have to eat out or feed them fast food (since Jan. 5th they’ve only eaten out twice!)?  Did I update my food journal?  Do I want to have that 6th snack tonight (I prefer not to but if I’m hungry I’m supposed to)?  Is my fridge satisfactorily filled with the proper food for the next few days?  Are my yoga clothes clean for tomorrow?  Am I going to bed at a responsible hour (gotta get that healthy 8 hours in)?  Did I take my evening supplements?  Am I proud of my progress today?  Any chance I burnt more calories than I consumed today?  Can I avoid checking the scale for another day?  Am I going to meet my upcoming short-term goal?  Any chance I’ll blow the goal away (I can dream, right?)?  When people, that haven’t seen me lately, look at me will they see the difference? This is the hardest I’ve ever worked on losing weight and changing my life-style, what if I fail?  I can’t fail.  I don’t want to fail.  I won’t fail.  And on and on and on… Uggghhhh.

I’ve also found that my mind gets so consumed with ME and MY goals that I’m frequently not giving the house, the spouse, and the kids their due attention. 

So, for you that have had some long- term weight loss success, does this life-style EVER become such a habit that it recedes to the back of my thoughts instead of constantly consuming my mind?  I’ve been extremely diligent on my plan for 4.5 weeks.  Although I haven’t weighed myself – my body changes and how my clothes fit are evident.  I’ve finally stopped counting how many yoga classes I’ve completed – so that feels like a slight move towards habitual behavior – but what about the other 100 weight loss thoughts that are ALWAYS on my mind?

Anyone have any insight?  Anyone…

~ Time to put the iPod on and dance through some housework.  That’s exercise right?  – Angie

3 Responses to "Losing Weight Feels Like a FULL Time Job!"

OMG – I so agree! I have never managed to maintain my losses so never reached the point where it became a habit that I didn’t think about. I think about food (what to eat, what not to eat, when to eat) way too much. And it takes soooo much time for me to find recipes, plan meals, shop, cook. I don’t have a job and cannot imagine doing this if I did work outside the house!

I LOVE THIS POST!!!! I am going to have to follow the comments to see if anyone can give us good news:)

It does become habit, but it takes time, effort, and consistency. I include my son in the process and it really helps! I am not perfect, but I feel like most days, we’ve got a solid routine down. And dancing while jamming to the iPod and doing housework IS a workout – I said the same thing this morning about my shoveling endeavor…425 calories burned? Yup, it’s a workout! 🙂

Waistingtime: I, too, stay home and know exactly what you mean about wondering how those that work outside of the home find the time and energy to stay on plan (and exercise)! Kuddos to them!!!

I do a lot of cooking on Sundays (stocking up on soup, brown rice, steel cut oatmeal, boiled eggs, tuna steak, chicken breasts, roasted sweet potatoes, sometimes I even pre-make baked potatoes) so basically I only have to prepare veggies for MY dinners during the week. I do have to make “normal” meals for the kiddos, though. They’re “normal”, yet healthier than they use to be!

Thanks for the comment! 😀 – Angie

Leave a comment

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings