Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Calorie Counting Sites?

Posted on: February 6, 2010

I started a food journal last week (I’m going to post 1 wk at time and will post the first wk on Monday). Well, today I decided to enter my daily logs into the calorie counter at Fit Day …  I even went to the trouble of entering the exact nutritional information off of the products that I frequently eat.   My daily caloric intake for the last 5 days just seems incredibly low…  I was wondering if anyone else uses Fit Day or has heard of any complaints from people who use or have used it?

Here’s an example of the day that I supposedly consumed the most calories this week:

February 1st –

8:30 am 2 hard-boiled egg whites and a cup of ruby-red grapefruit

10:45 am 2 oz. chicken breast, raw cucumbers, broccoli, cauliflower, and tomatoes with a “touch” of Walden Farm Honey Mustard dressing

1:30 pm 2 oz. grilled tuna steak (prepared ahead of time) with green salsa verde and roasted brussels sprouts, which I use to hate!

3:00 pm small energy bar to tide me over until 5pm

5:00 pm protein shake blended w/ a few berries (something small 2 hours before yoga)

9:30 pm too late but had to take the late yoga class today and always come home STARVING – 2 oz chicken breast, 1/4 roasted sweet potato, roasted brussels sprouts

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 963 – Fat Grams, 21.3 – Carb Grams, 114.8 – Protein, 79.1

Do these numbers seem possible to you?

My servings ARE small, but I eat 5 to 6 times a day and after almost 5 weeks of this I am NEVER hungry – I even eat on schedule when I don’t feel hungry.  I’m not complaining – I mean, if these numbers are right and I’m NOT hungry that’s awesome!  I’m just wondering if the Fit Day numbers ARE correct???  If so, it would seems I should be leaving melted piles of fat every where I go…

Anyone???

~  Thanks for your input!  – Angie

5 Responses to "Calorie Counting Sites?"

I love Fitday. I have logged my exercise, measurements, and weight on there for years. I found the food log to be a bit too cumbersome… seemed I had to customize so many things I ate and had to calculate and input counts for recipes. But it always seemed about right when I used it.

Why not pick a couple of food items and do a search to find what other online sources say. That does seem like a low total for your day, maybe.

I prefer CalorieKing…I even downloaded their $40 desktop program. You can enter as many custom foods as you want, and I find it rather reliable. Mind you, I only count once or twice a week (to keep myself in the proper perspective), but it was indispensable when I was counting daily.

Those numbers seem a little low to me but I don’t think they are too far off from reality! And IMO, they aren’t enough calories for you! I haven’t read up on the 60 Day Makeover you’re doing so I’m not sure how restrictive it is on calories but my guess is that it’s too restrictive. Your body will go into starvation mode if you aren’t eating enough calories…and it won’t lose any weight when it’s in starvation mode.

I was once a participant in a weight loss study and their calorie requirements for losing weight were 1200/day for women under 200lbs and 1500/day for women over 200lbs. I forget their fat gram goals though. I safely lost weight over a period of time following those rules (and exercising). Maybe you could bump up your calories and add in a little more fat (the good ones…olive oil, peanut butter) and see how you do?

SparkPeople has free tools used to count calories! It’s pretty cool!

You actually do need to get at least 1000 calories a day. A diet that is too low in calories will leave your body fighting to hang on to the fat because it thinks it is in starvation mode.

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and commenting!

Have a wonderful day!

~Kellie

[…] Calorie Counting Sites? | Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner … – 2013 Bikram Yoga Log; Weight Loss Gems; I lost 27 pounds in 5 weeks – NOT a typo! Bummed by the Turkeys Today. Calorie Counting Sites? Posted by: isladeangela on: February 6, 2010. … (prepared ahead of time) with green salsa verde and roasted brussels sprouts, which I use to hate! […]

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

