Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

I lost 27 pounds in 5 weeks – NOT a typo!

Posted on: February 7, 2010

After 5 weeks on plan I finally broke out the scale to survey my progress… -27 pounds!  UnFREAKINbelievable!

Food Journal – February 1st – 7th (Weeks 4 thru 5 on plan)

*** Note:  I didn’t start using Fit Day to figure out my calories, fat, carbs, and protein until late in my 4th week.  I was VERY surprised to see how low my numbers are and wonder if the Fit Day calculations are accurate…  I’m not hungry, and if I am, I eat every 2 hours instead of 2.5 – 3.  I’m not putting my body into “Starvation Mode”.  I do a vigorous 90 minute Hot Yoga/Bikram Yoga session on average of 5 days a week and feel if I wasn’t getting enough nutrition that my body would not be able to handle such a difficult workout.  Regardless, I do intend to up my daily calories slightly.  Despite gaining lean muscle mass, I lost 27 pounds in 5 weeks and think that may be a little too fast to be healthy

Food Journal – February 1st – 7th (Weeks 4 thru 5 on plan)

1st –

8:30 am 2 hard-boiled egg whites and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

10:45 am 2 oz. chicken breast, raw cucumbers, broccoli, cauliflower, and tomatoes with a “touch” of Walden Farm Honey Mustard dressing

1:30 pm 2 oz. grilled tuna steak (prepared ahead of time) with green salsa verde and roasted brussels sprouts, which I use to hate!

3:00 pm small energy bar to tide me over until 5pm

5:00 pm protein shake blended w/ a few berries (something small 2 hours before yoga)

9:30 pm too late but had to take the late yoga class today and always come home STARVING – 2 oz chicken breast, 1/4 roasted sweet potato, roasted brussels sprouts

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 963 – Fat Grams, 21.3 – Carb Grams, 114.8 – Protein, 79.1

2nd –

10:00 am (slept in) 2 oz. chicken with some blueberries

12:00 pm salad (1 hard-boiled egg white, 1 oz chick breast, romaine, baby spinach, cucumber, cauliflower, broccoli, tomato) 2 tsp honey mustard dressing

3:00 pm protein drink blended w/ banana, strawberry, blueberries (2 hours before yoga)

UGH!  Yoga was @4:30 – not 5… messed up my schedule!

5:00 pm 1 oz. chicken breast, 1/4 roasted sweet potato

8:30 pm (after yoga) 10 boiled shrimp cocktail and one large strawberry

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 776 – Fat Grams, 12.6 – Carb Grams, 67 – Protein, 98.8

3rd –

8:30 am 2 oz. chicken breast and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

11:30 am 2 oz. grilled tuna steak, roasted fennel, green beans and tomato

2:00 pm 6 boiled shrimp cocktail

3:00 pm (2 hours before yoga) protein drink blended with strawberry and banana chunk

7:00 pm (after yoga) plate of roasted and steamed veggies and 1/4 roasted sweet potato

9:15 pm a few apple slices (more skin than inside)

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 937 – Fat Grams, 19.8 – Carb Grams, 117.4 – Protein, 79.1

4th –

8:30 am 6 boiled shrimp cocktail with 1/4 cup strawberries, blueberries, and banana slices

10:30 am 2 oz chicken breast and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

12:30 pm 1 oz tuna steak and steamed broccoli

2:30 pm (2 hours before yoga) protein shake blended with blueberries

6:15 pm 6 boiled shrimp cocktail and on-plan honey mustard broccoli, cabbage, jicama slaw

8:45 am a few apple slices (more skin than insides)

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 738 – Fat Grams, 12.3 – Carb Grams, 99.8 – Protein, 62.3

5th –

9:00 am 2 oz. chicken breast and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

12:30 pm spicy chicken sausage and broccoli soup 

3:00 pm 1 oz. grilled tuna, steamed carrots and green beans, cucumbers and tomatoes w/ calorie-free thousand island dressing

6:00 pm mushroom veggie burger on 100 calorie ww bun w/cucumber, tomato, lettuce, pepperochini, onion, and chipotle mustard.  SO GOOD it felt like cheating!  (I only allow myself the bun once a week… I’m carb-phobic!)

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 786 – Fat Grams, 23.7 – Carb Grams, 92.7 – Protein, 59.2

6th –

10:00 am 2 oz. chicken breast and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

12:45 pm salmon patty with steamed broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower

3:00 pm (something small 1.5 hours before yoga) protein shake blended with 1/4 cup blueberries

7:00 pm (after yoga) 3 oz. grilled chicken and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 957 – Fat Grams, 24 – Carb Grams, 114 – Protein, 76.5

7th –

10:30 am (slept in) 2 oz grilled chicken breast and a cup of ruby red grapefruit

12:30 pm mushroom veggie burger on 100 calorie ww bun w/cucumber, tomato, lettuce, pepperochini, onion, and chipotle mustard.  My absolute favorite meal right now…

2:30 pm (something small 2 hours before yoga) protein drink blended with chunk of banana and blueberries

6:30 pm (after yoga) 2 oz. grilled chicken breast, 1/2 roasted sweet potato, steamed broccoli

9:oo pm a few apple slices (mostly skin)

Fit Day Calorie Counter ( I assume, in actuality, that these numbers are slightly higher): 

Calories, 960 – Fat Grams, 16.7 – Carb Grams, 146 – Protein, 67.1

~ -27 pounds in 5 weeks… you couldn’t knock the smile off my face right now!  – Angie

4 Responses to "I lost 27 pounds in 5 weeks – NOT a typo!"

Wow! Congrats on those 27 pounds! That’s awesome!

Congrats on those 27 pounds! Please do up your calories, with all the calories burned, you need fuel! Good job!!!

That’s amazing! Great job! You need to eat some more, though!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

