Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Damn Scale and Gross Kale!

Posted on: February 9, 2010

Well, I finally weighed myself on Sunday (after 5 weeks of NOT weighing myself).  The results were awesome BUT I DIDN’T put the scale away and found myself mysteriously drawn to it this morning.  The numbers hadn’t moved even 1 oz. since Sunday…  I’VE GOT TO PUT THE DAMN SCALE AWAY!  It bummed me out even though, when I got dressed this morning, I was able to wear a sweater that I haven’t worn in YEARS.  Still, my mind went to the lack of movement on the scale…  The scale is so destructive to to my motivation!  Am I the only one that feels like this?  I read so many other blogs of women on weight loss journeys and they check their weight multiple times a day, daily, every couple of days, weekly, etc…. Don’ t the results bum you out?  Even if there is a “little movement” don’t you feel like it isn’t enough for how hard you’ve been working?  Ugh.  Bad scale.  Bad.

You’d think with the numbers not moving on the scale today that I’d be all motivated to go to yoga, but you’d be wrong.  I’m in the Chicago area and we’re getting lots of snow, I’m working at the kid’s school 4 days this week, I’m planning A(10)’s class party for Valentine’s day, we have two school projects due  this week, we had to put 63 goody bags together, the laundry and kitchen were out of control, and I was in the mood to cook up a few new veggies.  So, no yoga tonight.  I’m okay with that, though.  I ate responsibly and was pretty busy all day.  It’s all good.  I’ve promised myself that I’ll never miss 2 days in a row so I’ll be there tomorrow.

So the two new veggies I cooked up were Kale and Asparagus (not that exotic but I’ve never cared for it.)  Unfortunately, I wasn’t pleased with either of them.  I made Kale Chips.  With the first crunch I thought, “Hmmm… That’s kind of good.”  The second bite had some of the vein in it and was bitter.  I tried another one with the same results.  Then I went to pick my son up and the aftertaste started to taste really bad and turn my stomach.  By the time I got home I was nauseous and the smell of the rest of the chips gave me chills. Brrrr…Yuck!  Maybe my kale wasn’t fresh enough?  Maybe I’ll try it again when I can get some fresh, FRESH, F*R*E*S*H leaves?  We’ll see.  Brrrr…Yuck!I roasted the asparagus.  It was edible but still not one of my favorites.  I only ate 5 stalks and threw the rest out.  I tried, though.  I bought some peeled and cubed butternut squash today… I’ll give them a try tomorrow.  Do you have a great recipe for them?

~ I’m off to bed – the best part of the day… ***I love my bed*** – Angie

7 Responses to "Damn Scale and Gross Kale!"

I weigh everyday and am too influenced by the number. It has been up lately despite eating well and exercising and I think it added to my bad mood all day:(

I had planned to try that kale eventually. Darn. I can handle the roasted asparagus. I do not like butternut squash unless it is coated in brown sugar which defeats the purpose, so can’t help you there. I love allrecipes.com – they may have some good ideas for you.

Yes, I’ll have to echo your comments about the scale. It is frustrating to repeatedly weigh myself and see the fluctuation. I can attest to the fact that we weigh less in the morning than the night before. But, the difference is more pronounced when you get a good night’s sleep. For the past several nights, I have stayed up too late doing unproductive things on the computer and I have to cut that out! The result has been bad on my weight loss goals. Not getting enough sleep has prevented me from being delighted by the scale in the morning on more than one occasion.

I had thought about only weighing myself weekly or monthly. The notion of always (presumably) seeing the downward ticks would be refreshing. But, honestly, seeing a pound or two gain in the middle of the week (or month) is extra incentive to do extra good to make up for it. If I prolong the time between weigh-ins, I worry that the corrective incentive wouldn’t come in time and I’d have a whole week (or month) of stuff to “undo”.

I don’t know. Maybe that is silly. I should get some pants that fit like a glove so that I’d always know when more than a couple pounds crept back on. As it is, I am wearing the same knit pants (most days) that I wore when I was 50 pounds heavier. They “hang” a whole lot differently now, and are even too large, but not large enough to fall down to my ankles. 😉 I’m trying to save my money for a complete wardrobe overhaul when I am at my goal weight and not invest much in a wardrobe that I hope to outgrow later this year!

Sorry to ramble so!

I love butternut squash! I usually make it in a risotto or with quinoa but I’m not sure your eating plan includes that amount of carbs??? On another note, my step-sister and I used to call asparagus “asparagross” but now it’s like my favorite vegetable!

I report my weigh-ins weekly. I weigh everyday. But I don’t allow myself to put as much stock in my numbers as I used to. Do my pants fit snug or just right today? Damn on the kale! I’m not a huge fan of it, but roasted asparagus is good. I always make a butternut squash soup!

ugh the scale. it can make a great day bad or a bad day great. It sucks that one household object can have so much control over ones mood! I try really hard to only weight 2x a week. I should only do it one time, but I weigh at home and at Curves on different days. You did so well, don’t worry about these past days!! Keep up th good work , and best wished finding a tasty recipe!

I try to stay off the scale except for a weekly weigh in. It is too crazy making. If the scale is up I want to drown my sorrows in a plate of brownines, and if it is down, I think I have enough wiggle room to eat a dozen donuts. Either way, it messes with my head.

Like Erin, I try to pay more attention to the way my clothes feel. I have a friend who has never battled with weight issues, and she went for 2 years without weighing herself – that seemed so bazaar to me…but she said she just goes by her clothes, which works if you don’t have an entire boutique of 12 different sizes hanging in there.

When scale hopping becomes aerobic activity for me, I know that it is time to address some emotional issues. Its a delicate balance.

Hey Jennifer! I took a photo of myself in an outfit that was too small at 255 lbs. I re-took the photo today, at 232, and it was almost wearable already! So I decided to take out the smallest jeans in my closet and squeeze into them for my photo shots instead. It was really ugly and I’m waaaay to vain to post it on my website (until I have some satisfactory “after” shots anyway)! I will eventually! I agree with you and your friend that fitting into smaller clothes is a better way to judge progress than the number on the scale. I put my scale away. I’ll retake my photos in about 5 or 6 weeks (and probably pull the scale out, too!). Thanks for your comment! – Angie

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

