Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

I INHALED sugar like a Hoover (vacuum)…

Posted on: February 15, 2010

After a record breaking 40 days ON PLAN, with no cheats, I really blew it at the Valentine’s Day dinner/dance.  It was ugly.  It involved 4 chocolate chip cookies, a brownie, a slice of run cake, and 4 LARGE shortbread cookies half- dipped in chocolate – not even to mention the off-plan dinner…  The next morning I woke up with a headache.  I use to get a couple of headaches a week but haven’t gotten ANY since changing my eating habits.  I was bummed and a little disappointed in myself but not as much as I thought I’d be.  I STILL look so much better than I did 6 weeks ago, I’m STILL fitting into clothes that I haven’t worn in YEARS, and I STILL “feel” skinny (I really do!).

I honestly could not wait to go to yoga the next day.  I sooooo wanted to sweat and detox that sugar out my system (I do the 90 minute Hot/Bikram Yoga which definitely detoxes my system).  Now, instead of counting how many days on-plan, I’m going to count how many days of consecutive yoga sessions.  I figure that one bad eating day out of 40 GREAT days isn’t going to even be a blip on my long-term weight loss radar.  And thankfully, I didn’t even have the urge to continue down the slippery slope of “one more day” of sugar and stuffing my face with all of my favorites “just one more time”.  I kept my sugar binge to about 5 hours and woke up KNOWING it was over.

I’ve also hung up a pair of jeans  – front and center – that I want to fit into really badly! I haven’t worn them in about 6 years and 50 pounds.  I feel that I may be able to fit into them before I lose 50 more pounds, though…  The yoga is really helping my muscles become lean and changing my body shape.  “They” say that muscle is heavier “by volume” than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I’m a believer.  I’ve seen it first hand during this go-round on the weight-loss carousel. 

5 lbs. of fat vs. 5 lbs. of muscle

That’s another reason I’m only weighing myself monthly.  I KNOW my body is changing even if the scale isn’t moving as fast as I’d want it too.  I’m building lean muscles!!  My husband is even impressed with my new leg muscles – woo hoo!  (Speaking of my husband I HAVE to admit that I’m already less inhibited showing off my “yogi” improvements!)

*****************************************

Lastly, I wanted to share some pictures of inspiration I received:

I'm proud of you flowers

My dad sent me these flowers to say, “I’m proud of you!”.  My loss of 30 pounds has inspired him to lose some weight, too.  He actually paid for 3 months of my yoga class which really keeps me going because I don’t want to waste his money!  Aren’t these lovely?!

Also, my mom and step-dad sent this to the family for Valentine’s Day:

Inspiration from Mom

I’m sure they sent fruit instead of candy with my goals in mind – it’s nice to feel support from so many sides!  😉

*********************************************

~ Forgive yourself if you “enjoyed” the weekend too much and get right back on your plan.  You know you want to!  – Angie

3 Responses to "I INHALED sugar like a Hoover (vacuum)…"

The flowers are absolutely beautiful. I love the color! And the fruit bouquet is also gorgeous. Your family is very thoughtful indeed. Many feel that those closest to us are our worst saboteurs, but it looks like you don’t have that problem!

Good for you – focusing on the positives of how far you have come instead of the one day slip up.

We wouldn’t be human if we didn’t slip up from time to time. And yes, it will be a teeny tiny blip on an awesome weight loss journey. I’m so glad you have the right attitude about it and that you got right back on the journey (and didn’t beat yourself up in the process)!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

