Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

~ Moments of Joy ~

Posted on: February 20, 2010

Yesterday’s post was pretty depressing so I thought it was time to give some attention to the good things I’ve experienced lately…

~ Moments of Joy ~

While running errands this week I inadvertently left my purse in the shopping basket outside.  I didn’t realize it for about 20 minutes.  In a panic I went back to the store to discover that a kind stranger had turned it in for me!  Whew!

After getting a little lax on taking the time to prepare food ahead of time I spent one afternoon making, turkey chili (beanless), steel-cut oatmeal, quinoa (healthier than brown rice), hard-boiled eggs, and some baked potatoes.  It made me feel good about myself.

J and I took the time to relax and watch a movie together – “The Hurt Locker”.  It was a very good movie!  We both enjoyed it.

Even though I cheated on my plan last Saturday at the dinner/dance, when we came home J and I had the house to ourselves and had fun using it appropriately (wink, wink!).  TMI?

After over a month of wearing very unattractive workout clothes to yoga (I figured at least I was there, right?) I finally fit into something better looking!  I actually though, “I look good” when I looked in the mirror at yoga!

After 6 weeks of working my plan, I took some “after” photos and almost fit into my “before” outfit perfectly!  I decided to try on a smaller outfit (the smallest jeans in my closet) and use them as my new “after” outfit.

My “drug of choice” is the Boston Cream donut.  This week I walked into the grocery store to see free samples of them (I could have inhaled the whole dish…)!  I walked right past them, crying inside, but walked past them none-the-less!!  Yeah me!

I ate carb-filled oatmeal yesterday AND DIDN’T immediately gain 5 pounds!  I’m going to eat some before yoga today in hopes the extra energy boost will push me through the class – whoooosh!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

~ Good Stuff, Angie – G*O*O*D Stuff – So what are your recent moments of joy? – Angie

 

  

5 Responses to "~ Moments of Joy ~"

That’s the spirit!!! And by the way, quinoa is AWESOME! I have a great recipe that I should try and get to you somehow…especially if you like butternut squash and cranberries!

What a great list:) My hubby and I got a huge bag of quinoa at Costco to try… it costs much less than the little bitty bags at the grocery store.

Way to go…we can all be really hard on ourselves, but it is imperative to remember all the good things we do for ourselves along the way. I still have setbacks – I’m sure you’ve read plenty of mine recently on my blog, but as long as giving up is never an option, it all comes together in the end. Hang in there. You can do it.

Since i’m in my no gluten/dairy/sugar diet, I have been eating Quinoa every day. I use it in place of pasta & rice.
My moment of joy? I bought my bike for under $600 and assembled it all by my self! I felt proud that I didn’t ask for help, and I only swore at it once 🙂
Have a great great Sunday

Very nice. And you really are doing GREAT with the weight loss! Keep the big picture in mind and enjoy the journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

