Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Found: Yoga Mojo and Mantra

Posted on: February 26, 2010

***** Just a quick “Yeah, Me!” *****

After almost 2 weeks of disappointing yoga sessions (Hot, Torturing, Bikram Yoga Sessions) I FINALLY had a good one – one that did not leave me feeling like D_e_a_t_h.

The other day I wrote about my need to find a new “mantra” to say during class (“It’s too hot.  I’m too dizzy.  I’m too tired” – just wasn’t working for me!).  I got some great suggestions from 266 and modified one of them to use while concentrating on my breathing:

Deep Breath In:  It’s a process.

Slow Breath Out:  There IS no fail.

One of the popular yoga sayings is “It’s NOT about the pose.  It’s about the process.”  It’s hard to remember that during a class, while you’re trying so hard to do a pose correctly and breathe through it.  But I kept my focus on my mantra and – It worked today. I KNOW more rough days will come but IT WORKED TODAY!

~ Today I am H*A*P*P*Y. Hope you find your H*A*P*P*Y, too! – Angie

*******************************************

3 Responses to "Found: Yoga Mojo and Mantra"

I just started yoga last month… but will need to use that saying:)

Hi Angela! The steam, salt and pick out the beans with my teeth method is my favorite way to eat edamame! lol However I also buy it already shelled and raw- so I just boil it and I LOVE it in salads, stir frys, rice salads, as a side veggie. I don;t know if you have a Trader Joe’s by you but they sell it shelled too- so does my local stores- in the freezer section. 🙂 Hope that helps ya! 🙂 Thanks for the question!

Hi Angela, Thanks for stopping by and your helpful comments. I hope to give you a shout out on today’s post, complete with the fat vs. muscle image. WOW – that was really helpful. Thanks. I look forward to following your journey!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

