Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Aim vs. Goal

Posted on: March 1, 2010

Following Fellow Weight-Loss Bloggers:

I’ve been finding great inspiration reading the blogs of other women in my situation (working hard to lose a large amount of weight) and the blogs of women who have been successful at losing large amounts of weight (my heroes).  Some of these women are extraordinary writers who are incredibly talented at expressing their thoughts and insights (yes, they make me feel like a very shallow thinker!! *blush*).  Although I have a list of weight loss blogs that I follow, over there on the right (point, point), I thought I’d start sharing some of the posts I’ve recently found that really made me think, laugh, and yes, feel like a shallow thinker (oh well)!!

Lyn has a touching, thought-provoking post, especially for those of you with pets, that will make you S*M*I*L*E  and feel good about yourself: Inspiration H*E*R*E

Julia did an AMAZINGLY-BRAVE thing  H*E*R*E and leads us to Mish’s Exposed Post full of other BRAVE, BRAVE women!  When I grow up I want to be as brave as they are!

Which leads us to my post title:  Aim vs. Goal

 Blue left a comment on Dawne’s Post (were Dawne is recapping her goals met and unmet for February) that really made me think. Here’s my paraphrase and additional thoughts to Blue’s idea (check the post on Dawne’s blog for Blue’s original comment):

“I don’t make monthly weight loss GOALS anymore. I prefer to have an AIM (definition: to determine a course or direct an effort). An AIM has flexibility.  Where you can fail to achieve a monthly GOAL, as long as you are working/moving towards your monthly AIM you have succeeded.  Consider a target.  The GOAL is obviously the bullseye, but you start with AIMING at the target.  If you are an “unexperienced marksman” (ie.  struggling to lose weight) then hitting the target would be a thrill!  If you make a bullseye in the process – outstanding – but seriously, even coming near the target (and/or hitting it) each month would be pretty satisfying, right?  So why set ourselves up to fail by possibly not meeting our (seemingly reasonable) monthly weight loss GOALS?” 

Interesting thought, huh?

I realize, of course, that in many situations having a GOAL is necessary (like having the goal to finish college…) but many of us struggling to lose weight –  often over and over again through the years – really tend to beat ourselves up when we perceive to have failed (be it for a day, weekend, week, month, etc…).  We often use this feeling of failure as an excuse to eat, binge, and indulge (even if we’re unaware that that’s why we’re eating, bingeing, and indulging until a while later!).  The sense of failure is often the cause of our “falling off the wagon”. 

So here are a few things I’m going to A*I*M for in March:

  • To meditate more.  Since I haven’t been meditating at all lately – any meditating will be a success!!
  • To eat more veggies!!  I only eat the sweet ones, lately.  I need to add in more greens.
  • To start using my (dusty) AB DVD workout in addition to my yoga sessions.
  • To take the time to put make-up on more often.  I’ve been doing yoga in the am, showering there, and just hanging out in my comfy clothes the rest of the day.  That’s not exactly making the most of the 35+ lbs I’ve lost!

*************************************

~  I’m Aiming for Amazing!  How ’bout you?  – Angie

 

*

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to "Aim vs. Goal"

Angie – AIM HIGH – you can do it!

It’s funny because people almost always ask me how long it took to lose a hundred pounds as they figure out if it is a goal they can achieve.

The interesting thing I learned along the way is that the time it takes only seems relevant when you are in the midst of it. Now, that I’m here, it simply doesn’t matter whether it took 2 minutes or 22 years – I’m here and that is what is important.

Whatever you do for yourself and however long it takes, the discoveries you make along the way will help you be the best you can be.

Rock on!

Angie,
I was planning to use Blue’s comment on tomorrow’s post as well…setting March AIMS, not goals. So, when you see it, I’m not copy catting, but was quite intrigued by Blue’s comment as well. She’s one smart cookie!

I happened to link to you in my post tonight as well! We’re thinking along the same lines!

You dont do yourself credit…you are a great writer 🙂 That make up thing – sigh, I wouldnt be seen dead with nails that were imperfect, and yet I to do the ‘slobbing out’ thing …and just like with the weight ‘thing’ I hate that I do it – but keep doing it. I too am going to aim to at least put lippy on, and hey – getting dressed once in a while might be an idea too lol. (it’s not q-u-i-t-e that bad….*cough.)

Blue~

Sorry to copy you too, but they say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery! I hadn’t posted in about a week, but tonight’s post of mine hopefully flatters you — you inspired me to dust off the fingers and type something in cyberspace. Hopefully my aiming is on target for March because at the end of the month, I would like to think I could lose more than the two pounds I lost in February! 🙂

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

