Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

How I defeated the Donut!!

Posted on: March 3, 2010

Singing to the Skinnier ME!!!

So yesterday’s depressing, pitiful, total-downer of a post ended with me turning off the tv, putting down the laptop, and GETTING OFF THE COUCH.  I then cranked up my “Rockin'” playlist on iTunes and started to dance through cleaning the kitchen.  “Alive” was the first song and half-way through it I realized I was singing it (out loud, of course) to the SKINNIER ME (pssst… I L*O*V*E her)!  So C*O*O*L.  It was incredibly uplifting.  My mood did a total 360.  Below are the Lyrics and Song (just ignore the video!).  Prepare your head-banging-self (you know she’s in there) to Dance!!

Alive by P.O.D 

Read the Lyrics then go H*E*R*E to Listen (Ignore the video!!) 

Everyday is a new day
I’m thankful for
Every breath I take
I won’t take you for granted – (Skinnier ME) (I won’t take you for granted)
So I learn from my mistakes
It’s beyond my control
Sometimes it’s best to let go
Whatever happens
In this lifetime
So I trust in love (so I trust in love)
You (Skinnier ME) have given me
Peace of mind

Chorus:
I feel so alive
For the very first time (In a long time, anyway!)

 I can’t deny you (Skinnier ME)

I feel so alive
I feel so alive
For the very first time
And I think I can fly (fly)

Sunshine upon my face (sunshine upon my face)
A new song for me (Skinnier ME) to sing
Tell the world
How I (Skinnier ME) feel inside (Tell the world how I feel inside)
Even though it might
Cost me everything
Now that I know this
So beyond, I can’t hold this
I can never
Turn my back away

Now that I’ve seen you (Skinnier ME) (Now that I’ve seen you)
I can neva look away

Now that I know you – (Skinnier ME) (I could never
Turn my back away)
Now that I see you – (Skinnier ME)
(I could neva look away)
Now that I know you – (Skinnier ME)
(I could neva
Turn my back away)
Now that I see you – (Skinnier ME)
(I believe no matta
What they say!)

 

Wasn’t that F*U*N?

*********************************

BUT wait, there’s MORE!! ( I know, I know – you can barely stand it):

In yesterday’s post I posed the question, “what do you feed your emotions with?”, then I found an envelope that I had used in my doctor’s office to jot down an inspirational message out of a magazine – this is AWESOME:

 

One evening a Cherokee elder told his son about the battle that goes on inside of people’s heads.

He said, “My son, the battle is between the two ‘wolves’ that live inside us all.  One is Unhappiness.  It is fear, worry, anger, jealousy, sorrow, self-pity, resentment, and inferiority.  The other is Happiness.  It is joy, love, hope, serenity, kindness, generosity, truth, and compassion.

The grandson thought about it for a moment and asked his grandfather, “Which wolf wins?”.

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”.

 

****  How Perfect is that?!  ****

************************************

My day continued to get better and I have lots of ~ Moments of Joy ~ to write about later.  A major lesson that I came away with yesterday was the NECESSITY of  GETTING OFF THE COUCH.  I was down, sad, and self-pitying and as long as I kept my ass on the couch that was not going to change.  I literally had to MOVE out from under my “cloud of gloom” and actively look for something to feel good about.  I did it and YOU can do it, too.  

~ I Feel So Alive ~ For the Very First Time ~ And I Think I Can Fly (fly…)

 – Angie 🙂

*

 

1 Response to "How I defeated the Donut!!"

You against the donut and you won! Very inspirational today:)

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

