Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

~ Moments of Joy ~

Posted on: March 4, 2010

I’ve learned one of the best ways to bring more happiness and moments of joy into my life is to RECOGNIZE (so many of us don’t stop to see these happy moments) and be thankful for the happiness and moments of joy that are already here!

Some of my recent ~Moments of Joy ~ :

I resisted a strong urge for junk food the other day and had the epiphany of how eating the donut would have been a small pleasure followed by a l-O-o-O-o-O-ng sense of regret and failure while resisting the urge filled me with pride and feelings of success for a whole 24 hours!

I started reading The Beck Diet Plan and already found an idea that really resonated with me – basically, each time we “resist” an urge to fall of plan we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle”.  Pretty simple, yet true.  I love finding little nuggets of truth that I can easily remember and apply to my life.

I FINALLY went to the hardware store and bought a replacement garage door opener.  Having had one forever, it’s been a major inconvenience not having one for the past month!

I also FINALLY returned a pair of shorts that didn’t fit and exchanged them for another pair of yoga shorts – big S*M*I*L*E (for not having to do yoga laundry as often)!

The girls sang on American Idol last night!  Yeah, it doesn’t take much to give me ~ J*O*Y ~ it’s the stopping to recognize it that gets me!  I like a bunch of them but Shioban got my vote with that amazing, amazing note she hit!

I took the time to actually dress in “real clothes” after yoga yesterday.  My husband said, “Wow.  You really are looking skinnier.”

And my favorite Moment of Joy… Walking into yoga the other day the owner stopped me and said another teacher had told her how much he admires the effort I put in each day.  She said, “We don’t judge people but we can definetly tell who’s giving it their all and you always give it your all.”   THAT felt so good to hear because I still struggle so much! 

************************************

 

Sooooo what are YOUR recent ~ Moments of Joy ~?

Joyfully, Angie 

 *

 

 

3 Responses to "~ Moments of Joy ~"

I felt a little more joyful just from reading your joys! Thanks Angie!

fairly new to blog reading, not new at all with the weight loss struggle. read that 2 part oprah story about the bikram yoga and feeling really inspired to try it which is funny because everytime I’ve done yoga I can’t wait to finish and get the hell out of there. would love to hear more about your experince with it. It would be a big commitment time wise and financially for my family so I’m trying to gather info. what the heck do you wear in a room full of flat bellied twenty something yoga hotties?

I couldn’t agree more Angie….when I’m appreciating the good things along the way, things move along much more smoothly. It is important to not just acknowledge the progress but embrace it. thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

