Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Healthy You Challenge Tuesday Check-In

Posted on: March 8, 2010

Time for a Healthy You Challenge Check-In:

I’m doing pretty good – but just not feeling very good about what I’m doing… does that make sense?  I’m going through the motions, sticking to my plan, reading inspirational blogs and books, exercising regularly, logging my calories, yada, yada, yada but I’M CRABBY and despite doing it all right – I have NO MOTIVATION.  I’m not enjoying any of it – even my results.  And I have NO ENERGY.  Thud.

I DID have one HUGE FAIL this week.  I walked out of my Bikram Yoga Class.  That may not sound like a big fail to you – but the only real rule in the class is to NOT LEAVE THE ROOM.  Even if you have to lay down through most of it – DON’T LEAVE THE ROOM.  This was the only class that I walked out of in 7 weeks.

My last woe-is-me comment for the post is that after losing 36 pounds in 6.5 weeks (about 6 pounds a week) I’ve only lost 2 pounds in the last 12 days.  I know, I know – I was losing too fast in the beginning but it sure was F*U*N! 

I’ve decided to up my calories.  I’m not hungry or anything but I think my weekly calorie average has been too low.  Maybe that will give my energy level a boost?!  I’m also going to take a few days off from Yoga and do some other exercise.  Maybe I’m a little burnt out on it…  Okay, on to something better.

*************************************

 

Here a few of the posts that I found this week that “spoke” to me, made me think, or gave me a smile:

Rachel sent me this link to Christina’s post on Good Food vs. Bad Food – It really made me think about how I catorigize my foods.

Anonymous Fat Girl has a great post on experiencing a lack of quick results.   She’s right – we live in a microwave society.

You HAVE to see this picture on Ann’s blog!  Now THAT’s a REAL Barbie!

 

*************************************

 

This commercial really made me laugh – how brave is she for supporting this product?  F*U*N*N*Y!

 

 

~ Well here’s to a successful week for all of us – Angie

 

4 Responses to "Healthy You Challenge Tuesday Check-In"

I think it sounds like a good plan to up the calories. I was just reading a blog, can’t remember which, about busting plateaus and that was a suggestion. But it has to be good calories added:) If you are eating right you should have energy.

Why did you walk out of yoga?

Hang in there:)

Hi Karen! Bikram Yoga is done in a 100+ degree room for 90 minutes. During the 90 minutes you exercise your entire body – including your organs!!! The heat makes you more flexible, helps your body sweat out toxins, AND teaches you to control your mind (patience, determination, learning to relax in uncomfortable situations etc…). I couldn’t take the heat that day. I couldn’t calm my mind to work through it.

The second half of the class is taking turns between compressing parts of your body and then laying flat and completely releasing/relaxing your body. The theory is you compress a body section, keeping blood from flowing through it, and then you release the compression and “Whoosh!” the oxygen-filled blood races back through you pushing toxins out of your organs, arteries, etc.. while you lay still and “relax”. Being able to relax in this uncomfortable room trains your mind to be able to relax in any situation. Anyway, instead of relaxing my mind was racing like a caged tiger being poked by a stick. I HAD to leave. I gave up. After spending 7 weeks learning to “do” it – I had this big fail. 😦

I’ll get over it and go back but it still hurt my pride! *sniff, sniff* ~ Angie

I’m sorry you’re not feeling it right now. 😦 That being said, it’s one moment/day/week: it won’t last forever. I think your ideas to up your calories and try something different (re: exercise) are good ones. Chin up! 🙂

Thanks for the mention! P.S. I’m not a huge fan of Yoga and I probably would have walked out and headed to the gym to lift weights. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

