Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Delicious Bok Choy, Baby! ~ (AKA: Ice Ice, Baby)

Posted on: March 10, 2010

Delicious Bok Choy, Baby… ~ (do, do, do-do-do, do, do, do)  

I’ve seen others say how much they like Baby Bok Choy and I thought, “I’ve had that in chinese food before.  It wasn’t anything special.”  I was wrong.  I was so, so wrong.  Baby Bok Choy is my new favorite vegetable.  I think I could eat it every day.  Have you tried it yet?  Here’s how I’ve been cooking it:  

Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry
Serves 1

2 cups baby bok choy, coarsely chopped – (keep soft greens off to the side)
1 tsp olive oil (I use as little as I can get away with)
1 clove garlic, minced (pressed, or grated) 
1/2 tsp fresh ginger, minced (I peel, freeze then grate it)
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper (or to taste)
1/4 – 1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp rice vinegar
1 tsp soy sauce (I use 5 sprays Bragg’s instead)
1/2 packet Splenda

Briefly heat olive oil in saute pan then add garlic and ginger (I just do this part in one small spot on the pan to lessen the amount of oil I need).  Cook for 30 seconds then add the white pieces of bok choy and the red pepper (add a bit more oil if you need it).  Stir fry just until tender-crisp (not soft), approx 3 – 4 minutes, then add the green part of the bok choy and cook for 30 seconds.  Quickly add the rest of the ingredients – and fry for 30 more seconds.  Devour.  

I’ve also stir fried baby bok choy with onions, sugar snap peas, and spinach (just start frying the hard veggies first adding the softer ones as you go).  Sometimes I fry up a spicy chicken sausage in the pan and then follow the recipe as written.  So yummy.

**********************************************  

~ I Hope you try it and E*N*J*O*Y it like I do – Angie  

    

**********************************************  

11 Responses to "Delicious Bok Choy, Baby! ~ (AKA: Ice Ice, Baby)"

Thanks for the advice on how to cook it. I’ll have to give it a try…I keep meaning to broaden my veggie horizons!

Sounds really good. Yeah, I’ve been expanding my veggie horizons, too.

(So, do you have any ice ice for your chin chin? How did it go today)?

I have never thought to try bok choy at home! But I do like it from the Chinese restaurants.

Mmm, I love baby bok choy! They never seem to have it at my grocery store though. 😦 I hate living in the boonies! How did your removal go?

Hi Gina! My chin doesn’t hurt at all! I could barely feel the laser except for two spots above my lip. When I left I was red and blotchy and it felt a little like a sunburn for about an hour and then it was fine. Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy. I’ll go back every 4 weeks for as many sessions as I need – 5ish probably. I’ll post pictures when I’m brave enough and am officially beardless! 😉 ~ Angie

I can’t get enough of the stuff. I love it!!! Glad your chin isn’t sore.

I don’t recall ever eating bok choy, but I’m sure I have in Chinese restaurants. Printing this for the “must try” file! 🙂

Do you have a Trader Joe’s by you? Just bought an organic bag of mixed southern greens ready to be cooked. A couple recipes on back but I just sauted with a little olive oil, onion and organic chicken broth. Can’t wait for dinner. I too am trying to way increase the dark, leafy green intake.

I have never cooked it at home, but your recipe looks good. I will have to get some on my next shopping trip.

yum, sounds great!

[…] falling in love with Baby Bok Choy this week I’ve also started adding spinach leaves to my morning smoothie/protein drink. I saw […]

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

