Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Veggies, Vegans, and RAW? Oh my!

Posted on: March 13, 2010

Broadening my Horizons –

Well, I finally reached the 40 pound mark on the scale!  I’ve been hovering around it for almost 2 weeks but was finally rewarded with the magic number:  215.  It doesn’t sound quite as “M*A*G*I*C*A*L as 150, though.  So the Journey continues!

I find great inspiration from following bloggers like myself and also like checking out the blogs on their blog rolls.  Through those links I’ve found a lot of Vegetarians, Vegans, and RAW Enthusiasts.  The more I learn, the more interested I become in their life-styles.  I don’t know if I could be as disciplined as they are – or if I’d even really (in my heart of hearts) want to – as I DO ENJOY a GOOD STEAK!  But still, I do eat a lot of veggie meals now, I have given up beef and pork for over 9 weeks now, I’ve also given up dairy for 9 weeks (and DO think I’ll continue that practice),  and the more I learn about organic food compared to non-organic, GMO’s, and antibiotics in our foods – the more intrigued I become…  Anyway, I thought I’d share some of the links to the bloggers whose life-styles I*N*T*R*I*G*U*E me:

Jennifer’s Bankrupt Vegan (for those of us on a budget)!

Chocolate-Covered Katie who is just the cutest!

Angela’s Oh She Glows – and she does!

Mae’s Ohh May! – she’s only a high school senior and her blog is amazing!

and

Averie’s having a book give-a-way on her blog: Love Veggies and Yoga

*****************************

~ BTW – these ladies are all beautiful and SKINNY.  Maybe they have something here, huh?  – Angie

*

 

4 Responses to "Veggies, Vegans, and RAW? Oh my!"

Huge congrats on 40 pounds!!! WOOT!

I like learning from similar sites, too, especially as I learn about different vegetables and how to prepare them.

You’ve gone without beef and pork for 9 weeks!?! Awesome. I’ve revamped my old weekly menus and reduced red meet to once a week and increased the beans. I never thought I’d like them, but they’ve actually grown on me.

Wooo Hooo! Congratulations!

I eat TONS of veggies. I’m trying to edit a video right now for the blog about how I make it easy. I probably eat at least 5-8 cups of raw veggies every day. If it is not something you do, start gradually, or the tooting will find you without many friends. 🙂

Congrats, congrats congrats!! 40# is such an accomplishment. Thank you for naming me, that was so sweet!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

