Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

This and That Tuesday (almost anyway!)…

Posted on: March 15, 2010

This and That:

Here are some good posts I came across this week:

I L*O*V*E Dr. Oz! Did you know he has a List of 100 Weight Loss Tips on his blog?  Thank you, Dr. Oz…

Diane at Fit to the Finish has a post pointing us towards Sugar Stacks, a visual guide to the amount of sugar hiding in processed foods. Even the well-informed will be shocked at this one!

Besides falling in love with Baby Bok Choy this week I’ve also started adding spinach leaves to my morning smoothie/protein drink. I saw the idea on Dr. Oz and can’t believe that it’s not even noticeable in the drink. Later in the week I came across Angela’s Green Monster Movement!

***********************************

 

This Weigh or That Weigh???

Thanks to Dr. Beck’s Diet for Life I’ve been rethinking my original plan to weigh myself just once a month…  She believes weighing should be done daily – which scares me – but her reasoning seems sound and after being stuck at 217, for almost 2 weeks, I realized if I hadn’t been checking the scale daily I wouldn’t have known.  Her reasons are:

“By weighing every day, successful dieters learn how to avoid feeling disappointed, frustrated, or even overly excited when they see what the scale says.  They don’t view their weight as an indication that they are weak, inadequate, or out of control. They don’t see weight losses as reasons to loosen up or celebrate with food.  And they don’t use weight gains or smaller-than-expected weight losses as reasons to fall off their diets altogether because they are confident that they know what to do to get the number on the scale moving back down again.”

Basically by checking the scale daily:

* you’ll prove to yourself that fluctuations are normal

* you’ll learn how to use the number on the scale as information

* you’ll become desensitized to the number and reduce feelings of shame by what that number is

* you’re able to see, within a few days, if you are having a problem and should cut back on something you’ve been eating

I particularly like the idea of becoming desensitized to the number – I’d like to get to the point where I can step on the scale without apprehension and just accept the number as information and act accordingly.

So the experimenting with “what works for me” continues (as if one day it will stop?  ha, ha!).

**************************************

 

This Movie or That Movie???

Our family went the $1 movie to see The Blind Side – it was weird being at movies without shoveling Milk Duds, Popcorn, and Coke down my mouth.  Even though I had eaten dinner just before leaving for the show my stomach was telling my head that it was hungry – just from being in the movie environment.  I took a Powerade Zero with me and nursed it through the movie.  My cravings subsided and as my mind got into the movie the “imaginary hunger” passed.  The movie was excellent – we all (even my 8 year-old) really enjoyed it.  My 13 year-old asked how old Sandra Bullock is – we guessed 40… he said, “Wow. She looked like she was 20.”  Being a 40 year-old myself – and looking like it – I was less than thrilled to have to agree.  She’s gorgeous – I can’t even let my mind go to what I’d look like on a HUGE MOVIE SCREEN! ***** 5 out of 5 stars

District 9 (free from the library) – it was really interesting and original.  The whole movie was filmed like it was a documentary about a real human/alien situation.  There will definitely be a sequel!  ****4 out of 5 stars

Fame 2009 – cliché, boring, not worth the gas to rent it (again, free from the library) 0 out of 5 stars

Food Inc., – a must see – especially for those of us changing to a healthier life-style.  It was really interesting.  I thought it would have a lot of gross information trying to turn us off from meat and dairy but it’s really more informative than anything.  ***** 5 out of 5 stars

 

***************************************

~ I’m off to catch up on “24” with the hubby – Angie

*

5 Responses to "This and That Tuesday (almost anyway!)…"

I think we have the same taste buds! Me and milk duds have issues. They never used to be available in Canada, or at least my part of the country, and then they came. I discovered them. I needed them. I love them. I can’t have too many of them.

But, lucky for me, I share the same taste buds as you!!! I LOVE BABY BOK CHOY – like I mean love. I love it in a little olive oil, soy sauce and some sesame seeds. How do you love it?

The daily weighing does make sense, but at the same time I’ve heard good points about once a week, every other week and monthly. I guess it all depends on where you are in your weight loss journey. Thanks for all the great links by the way!

I too am a daily weigher. I think for me while losing it was a good way to watch where the trends were going and in maintenance it’s an accountability thing. BUT, I have had to learn to not get upset by the normal monthly and weekly fluctuations.

Thanks for the mention!

That’s interesting: I don’t think I’ve ever heard the reasoning behind daily weigh-ins! Hope it works for you. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I can see the reasoning behind daily weighing and that might be something I try. For now, I’m going to stay off the scale for the month and then re-evaluate what works best for me after the month. Great information though, thanks for sharing. By the way, I agree on Food Inc. Excellent documentary that gives a lot of very interesting information.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

