Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Meatless Monday’s ~ Moments of J*O*Y ~

Posted on: March 22, 2010

Meatless Mondays!

Isn’t that a great idea?!  I think it’ll inspire me to get a little more c*R*e*A*t*I*v*E with my veggie intake.  It’s gotten pretty boring and I find I eat more healthy fruit carbs than healthy veggie carbs (not a horrible thing but I could definitely use more veggies).  I’m not worried about a lack of protein on Mondays as after two meals today (protein shake and protein-filled yogurty goodness) I’ve already gotten 44 grams of protein and 30 grams of fiber in for the day!  For dinner I’m really going out of my comfort zone by trying a Rachael Ray faux Stuffed Eggplant dish (I’m gonna substitute mushrooms for the meat).  I’ve never cooked eggplant… so exciting, huh?!  Ha, ha.

**************************************

~ Moments of J*O*Y ~

It’s been a while since I stopped to recognize all the good things going on in my life. Since ~ Moments of Joy ~ was such an obvious alliteration with Meatless Monday’s I KNEW today was the day to stop and reflect!  I love a good alliteration!  🙂  So without further ado ~

~ I ‘ve finally found the perfect shade of toe nail polish to really accentuate my “yoga toes” and make me S*M*I*L*E!  It’s Maybelline Express Finish #170 Crimson.  It’s the perfect red.  I’m gonna load up on it the next time I shop!

~  I had a big weight loss this week!  I’ll post my numbers tomorrow in my food journal but my total loss is now 45 lbs!  I was hoping to lose 41 lbs by my 41 st birthday (April 12th, which is still 20 days away) and I’ve already achieved that goal!  Maybe 51 lbs is in reach????

~  I bit the bullet and invested in the Hot Yoga Master Class Instructional book and videos by Gabrielle Raiz.  It was, indeed, an investment but I’m sooooo glad I did it.  The book is amazing – clear precise directions, great photos, wonderful advice on common pose errors and how to fix them.  It will really help me to get the best of my Hot Yoga practice.

~  Speaking of yoga – today was the first day that I was able to fully do and hold both Camel Poses completely to the release.  The Camel is one of the harder poses for me to hold.  I feel really dizzy and tingley afterwards and that wakes up the “fight or flight response” inside me and makes me want to R*U*N out of the room!  I did it, though!  I did it ~ I did it ~ I did it!  Yeah Me.

~  Last Thursday I let myself call the cleaning service to clean the house.  This is not something I can afford to do very often but we’re expecting a decent tax refund and the house REALLY needed it so… It was a glorious treat.  There is not much that makes me happier than having a REALLY clean house that I didn’t have to do myself.  She contently S*..I*..G*..H*..S*……

 

***********************************

Quotes I recently fell in love with –

Falling is learning how not to fall. – Gabrielle Raiz

It takes as much courage to have tried and failed as it does to have tried and succeeded. – Anne Morrow Lindbergh

 

*************************************

~ Thanks for stopping by!  Do yourself a favor and take the time to recognize your own ~ Moments of J*O*Y ~ It’s a W*O*N*D*E*R*F*U*L boost to your day, spirit, and mood.  – Angie

*

5 Responses to "Meatless Monday’s ~ Moments of J*O*Y ~"

Sounds like you are having a great day:) I so love the perfect polish and can never find it. Unfortunately I hurt my shoulder on my vacation and don’t know when I can get back to my beginner’s yoga. I am so not having a moment of joy:(

Thank you. Your good mood has put a big smile on my face for the start of the work week.

Meatless Mondays are pretty fab. Often, it my most creative food day, and I’ve discovered I have to eat one heck of a lot of food to meat my daily goals. Creativity and more food!!!

Congrats on your weight loss!

I loved this! It’s so great to acknowledge the good things in our lives, weight related or not. Congrats on 41 before 41!!!!!!!! My 42nd is on April 5th…we’re practically twins! 🙂

Congrats on your big loss this week and for hitting 45 lbs GONE! 🙂 Whoohoo!

I love finding a good shade of nail polish..ahh its the little things in life! 🙂

You’re doing great! I saw today’s post, too. Your commitment is inspiring.

You mentioned the yoga stuff as an investment…YOU are the investment. 🙂

(btw – I deducted from my stat counter that you (I’m guessing it’s you) live in a town next to where I just moved from (Oswego).

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

