Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Touching Base Tuesdays

Posted on: March 23, 2010

My Weekly Re-Cap for The Healthy You Challenge

Time to T*O*O*T my own horn ~ Ta – Do – DOdoooo! ~ I lost 4.6 lbs this week!  That was a surprising loss as  I had only lost 8 lbs between February 15th and March 15th.  The only thing I did differently this week was to increase my fiber intake as described in the Full Plate Diet. Obviously, I don’t know if that’s what did it but I’ll take it!  Here is a brief article from their website:  How to Increase Your Fiber to 40 Grams a day.

As a self-described “carbophobic” it was a little scary to increase my intake of healthy-fiber-filled carbs.  I’ll be tracking my calories/carbs/fat/protein/fiber closely to keep an eye on how the change ultimately affects my weight loss…  It’s an interesting concept as increasing my fiber intake doesn’t interfere with my original eating plan

*****************************************

A Few Non-Scale Victories:

*  I’m proud to report that brief sightings of my missing collar bones have recently occurred.  The hope is that they will soon be back to stay!

*  I mentioned on St. Patrick’s day how hard it was going to be for me to resist eating my beloved corned beef as I made it for the family.  Well, I’m so proud to say that I did resist.  I didn’t even have 1 bite or 1 lick of my fingersI want to succeed at my weight loss more than I want corned beef.  How can I not succeed with focus like that?! 

*  I know I’m late to the party on this one but Spanx were the special of the day at HSN recently and I thought I’d try them… They’re really C*O*O*L. They’re comfortable, slimming, stay up well, and really do flatten out the rolls I haven’t quite lost yet! I actually like how it feels to have something so tight around my mid-section… It’s a constant, yet comforting reminder, of my ultimate goals.

*  During a recent spring-like day here in Chicagoland I walked through a store without a jacket and didn’t worry about having to hide my stomach. It was wonderful to not feel as though I had to constantly pull my shirt down (ie… make “modesty checks”) as I shopped

*  I went bowling with my family (it was even my idea!).  Over Christmas vacation we all went and I didn’t bowl because of 1) my size and 2) I was afraid of hurting the ankle that I broke 3 years ago (it’s held together with all kinds of metal now!).  But since losing weight AND strengthening my ankle in yoga I wasn’t worried about it!  It was fun – the whole family had fun – and my kids were thrilled that Mom was participating in the fun for a change.

The last pair of jeans I bought was a size 22… I’m now thinking it’s time to go get a pair of 14 jeans!!!  Yes, a 14!!!  They’ll have to be a little stretchy, mind you, but my stretchy 16’s are a little saggy… they ARE old, though… so we’ll see!  Even having to buy a tighter 16 will still be a major thrill for me!  I’m going to look for a pair next week…

We’re getting ready to visit family in Michigan for spring break so I’m getting my hair cut and colored today.  Let me tell you – it’s some well over-due maintenance!  I think I’m going to run by the mall and pick up some new make-up, too.  I swear I haven’t purchased new colors – or even new products – in so many years that I couldn’t even muster up a guess.  Muster up?  Who says that?  Ha, ha!  I’ve probably mentioned it before but most of the family in MI doesn’t know I’ve lost any weight.  I really want to “Wow!” them, ya know!?

************************************

Finally, definitely not a NSV but something that really entertained me this weekend… Have you ever seen the show “1,000 Ways to Die”?  There was a marathon on Spike TV and, although it’s not something I EVER thought I’d enjoy, I found it hilarious – in a gruesome way…  The silly ways these people are depicted before they die, in very strange ways, was soooo… captivating.  So non – PC, I know.  Maybe I shouldn’t be admitting that I found it fascinating?  I hope you haven’t lost respect for me?!   I just couldn’t stop watching it… *blush*

**************************************

~  Well, I had a great week!  If your’s wasn’t quite so successful I want to remind you that today is a new day, your new week can start right now, and YOU are the designer of YOUR life so make it the best you can!  – Angie

*

8 Responses to "Touching Base Tuesdays"

Wow! Good for you. BTW – Did you know that you can buy generic spanx at Target made by the same gal that does the brand name? Much cheaper than stores but I don’t know about buying online or on TV.

Awesome stuff! Now, come back here often and re-read, especially when a bummer day comes along.

Awesome! Congrats on the giant weight loss, the smaller jeans and all the fiber! And you are not the only one who is immensely entertained by 1,000 Ways to Die…we love that show!

Congrats on the loss – that’s awesome! Your NSV’s are great, too. 🙂

Wowzers – you better believe I”ll be trying the more fiber route! Fitting into new jeans…tastes better than anything! Enjoy them you sexy thang!

Way to go!! My mom always told me to tell myself, “Nothing tastes as good as it feels to be thin!”

Wow! Congratulations on all your great successes. You are doing great!

I swear by the fiber – It’s a good thing to keep me full and it certainly helps the digestive system. My favorite fiber-loaded breakfast – shredded wheat with fiber 1 on top. It’s got like 24 grams of fiber. Just be careful as you increase the intake – it can have some pretty aromatic effects until your boddy gets accustomed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

