Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

a R*A*R*E Saturday Post From the Isla

Posted on: March 27, 2010

I rarely post on Saturdays:

I read a lot of blogs over the weekend but don’t post for some reason… Oh yeah, I remember why – I don’t have anything to say!  How you daily bloggers do it is beyond me?!  And so many of you post picture after picture and links to this and that and “good golly” some of you post multiple times a day – It’s SoOoOoOo time-consuming!  J is out playing poker tonight, A is at a sleepover, and the boys are XBoxing so I thought I’d attempt a Saturday post… Just play along and pretend I have something interesting to share!  K?

********************************

First, I’m fairly FRUSTRATED: 

I’ve lost 47 pounds and no-one seems to be noticing!  I saw my hairdresser recently as she didn’t notice and either did some family friends!  I haven’t seen either of them in a few months so they REALLY should have noticed.  *pout.*  All I can figure is that since I’m STILL overweight maybe they’re uncomfortable commenting?  My hairdresser said, “I never thought you were that big!” when I told her.  I want people, that don’t know I’ve been working on it, to notice – is that silly of me?  I’m not doing it for THEM – I’m doing it for ME – but c’mon –  47 pounds is an average 5 year-old!!  Geeesh!  I’ll be seeing family in a week that hasn’t seen me since November – will they notice?  I’ll be so bummed if they don’t…

*************************************

U.S. of  Tara:

This weekend Comcast offered a free trial of Showtime and I fell in love with the series United States of Tara. I used the On Demand feature to watch all 13 episodes.   It was created by Diablo Cody (writer of Juno) and has such a unique premise.  Tara had an unknown traumatic experience and developed multiple personalities to protect herself.  She married, had children, had episodes on and off through it all, and then she and her  husband decided to have her go off her medication to deal with the personalities.  She has 4 personalities that all mingle with her family and kids and mess up all their lives – it’s funny, touching, mesmerizing, and very well-acted with very adult content.  Season 2 is just beginning on Showtime and I believe season 1 is on dvd – it’s very interesting!  Her husband is played by John Corbett (Carrie’s ‘Adian’ from Sex in the City) – L*O*V*E him and he’s such a dreamy husband in this show – like, the perfect guy!  Yum.

***********************************

 

Speaking of Y*U*M – Some mind-blowing Food Finds Keeping Me On Plan:

I recently found these products at Costco and I am ~ SoOoOoO ~ L*O*V*I*N*G ~ them!

Morningstar Chipotle Black Bean Burgers Seriously the B*E*S*T thing I’ve eaten in 10 weeks!

Sabra Hummus – Original Individual 4 oz cups

Chachies Mango Peach Salsa (The Perfect combo of sweet and  mild heat!)

Kashi’s Heart to Heart Whole Grain Garlic Crackers

Kashi Go Lean Crunch

Chobani Greek Non-Fat Yogurt

Kirkland Grilled Chicken Breast delicious cold, heated, stir-fried, etc…

I like to put the hummus and salsa on the Kashi crackers and if I have enough daily calories I add chicken, too.  OR I just top the hummus with the salsa and use the chicken as a dipper.  OR the salsa is AWESOME on the Black Bean Burger (with a wee bit of avocado) either on a salad or in a La Tortilla WW wrap.  I add chia and flax seed to the Chobani and top it with a little fruit and the Kashi Go Lean – yummy!

 

*******************************

~ So that’s Saturday post.  Hope it lived up to the “hype” – Ha, ha!

~ Angie

***

6 Responses to "a R*A*R*E Saturday Post From the Isla"

I, too, find myself with less to say than a lot of our fellow bloggers…and many fewer pictures too! I feel guilty about it sometimes! If only I felt as guilty about not working on my dissertation…

And I totally understand about people not noticing your weight loss. All I got this past weekend visiting my Dad and step-mom was “I can tell in your face.” Well that’s nice but what about the fact that my butt and gut are both smaller and my clothes actually fit now (and are even too big)? Just remember that you know you’ve lost weight and many others do too! In the end, the only person that matters is you! Everyone else will figure it out in the end and join the party a little late! And really, who wants to be late to a party?!?!?!

On another note, Boca chicken patties are our new favorite find. And Light Laughing Cow wedges are awesome too! I do love Kashi Go Lean Crunch though.

Aw I’m sure you are looking great. How can one not notice -40 some pounds! Some people are just super unobservant, or even jealous of weight loss progress, so don’t take it to hard. You’re doing SO well!

I think people are afraid to ask about the weight loss – it is such a touchy subject. I didn’t get a lot of comments until after I lost 100 pounds and then people would say things like, “have you changed your hair – you look a little different.” No shit, stupid – I used to have the equivalent of a 7th grader hanging around my neck. I just smiled and said, yeh, I lost 100 lbs…that opened the conversation up so I could celebrate.

On the flip side I had people ask me if I was pregnant during a really fat periods – that is way more uncomfortable so I think people find that it better to avoid the topic altogether.

Hang in there – you are doing great!

Having 100 pounds to lose, I found people didn’t say much until they knew for absolute certain. Just like the commenter above said, kind of like you want to make sure someone is pregnant before mentioning it.

Now that I”m down over 70 pounds, people don’t stop commenting, so as you lose more, it will change.

Love your blog! Thank you so much for your kind comment on my own. =) I put fav’d you and will definitely be back to read more about your adventures.

I wanna second what Dawne said. When you have a lot to lose, people are scared to say anything until they know FOR SURE. That’s what people said to me after they couldn’t ignore the drop in weight any longer. Weight changes (and pregnancy, etc.) are such an uncomfy thing for most people to approach without knowing for sure …

[…] important product I forgot to mention in my last post are the Pure Protein Bars, also found at Costco (among other places). I don’t think […]

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

