Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Touching Base Tuesdays

Posted on: March 29, 2010

Why Tuesdays?

You may wonder why Tuesday is my day to “Touch Base” by reviewing my week and posting my food journal…  C’mon admit it, you were wondering (she says with a sarcastic eye roll!)… 

Well, when I began this healthy living life-style I “threw all caution to the wind” and began on a TUESDAY instead of the widely popular Monday.  Freaky, huh?  I’m just C*r*A*z*Y like that.

Also, I signed up with the Healthy You Challenge, to stay motivated by others on this “journey”, and Tuesday is the check-in date. Mystery solved. You can stop wondering. Whew.

Weight Loss this week:  3.4 lbs. 

I almost can’t believe I’m starting week 12!

Yeah, ME.  I’m inching up on -50…

**********************************

Some Randomness:

I stumbled upon a F*U*N new site you might want to check out – The Vegan Lunchbox.  Jennifer has lots of interesting posts including one on making your own “instant” oatmeal packets.  So clever!

I started reading – The End of Overeating.  As someone mysteriously drawn to junky food I’m finding this book really enlightening. It’s amazing how the food industry has literally “brainwashed” and “manipulated” us into craving fat, sugar, and salt. Those 3 things, especially when combined together, actually re-wire our brains, to have an overwhelming desire for MORE! It’s appalling.  I highly recommend anyone who finds themselves obsessed with food cravings to read this one!

I also picked up the Vegetable Dishes I Can’t Live Without cookbook.  I haven’t tried any of them yet but I’ve read it twice (cookbook nerd) and I’m excited to try more than half of them!

An important product I forgot to mention in my last post are the Pure Protein Bars, also found at Costco (among other places). I don’t think it’s a good thing to often use a bar as a meal replacement but they’ve come in handy when I’m out running errands. I think they taste exceptionally yummy, too, (especially the Marshmallow Peanut Butter one!) and besides meeting my nutritional needs for one meal (besides protein they’re FULL of Vitamins!) AND filling me up – they satisfy my urge for a candy bar!  Y*U*M!

*********************************

H*E*L*P!  My kitchen’s falling apart!:

Time to send a GRIPE out into the universe – The garbage disposal broke months ago, the microwave has recently stopped working (it doesn’t heat!), the dishwasher started leaking (so badly that it’s warped some floor boards!), and last night the faucet handle fell off!  WTF?  I’m desperately in need of a Fairy Godmother on this one!

********************************

~ So that’s my “Touching Base Tuesday” post for the week.  Consider yourself  “touched” (in a purely chaste, metaphoric way, of course!) – Angie ~

**

7 Responses to "Touching Base Tuesdays"

First of all, it’s not Tuesday yet 😉

I began on a Tuesday as well and my weigh-in day at Weight Watchers is on Tuesday…it’s officially the beginning of my week! I think we began about the same time but you are way ahead of me in pounds banished forever. Way to go!!!!

The End of Overeating is a great book! I also recommend anything by Michael Pollan. He’s the common sense man of the food world.

Good luck with the kitchen…eek. And don’t mind me but I had to laugh when you clarified that the microwave didn’t heat when you said it broke. What else does a microave do?? 😉 Sorry, I think I’m in a snarky mood this evening…to much computer programming!

Hi Rachel! I KNOW it’s not Tuesday yet but I’m going to bed to read and thought I’d get it out into cyber space a little early (it’s Tuesday somewhere, right?)…

I’m going to go finish Pollan’s book – the good part – the how to overcome overeating!!

And, you snarky computer programmer (ha, ha), the clock, timer, turntable, buttons, stove lights, and fan/vent still work on the microwave – AND the door is still attached. See? The point that it doesn’t heat was important to my GRIPE. *smile*

Thanks for reading! ~ Angie

Fantastic loss Angie!!!

I just read an article in today’s paper about how combining the fat, sugar and salt rewires our brain to crave more. In fact, it is the trigger to compulsive overeating. Man, oh man! That makes me mad!

I started on a Tuesday too…but because it was Sept. 1st, so it was a beginning of sorts. Not just being plain ol’ funky like you! 🙂

Great numbers this week. That book sounds interesting.

Nice loss this week! I’m such a cookbook nerd myself! I will send good vibes to the kitchen gods on your behalf – that sucks!

Congrats on the loss – that’s awesome! 🙂

I like the alternate check in day – I think it helps keep us from playing games and actually living a 7-day week. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

