Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Dr. Beck “Nuggets”

Posted on: April 8, 2010

The Beck Diet for Life:

I like this book!  Will I do everything Dr. Beck suggests – Hell NO! – but she has a wonderful way of putting weight loss issues into perspective.  There are so many wonderful “Nuggets of Truth” to hold onto throughout this book!  In my last post I wrote about feeling deprived during the recent spring break/Easter weekend.  Last night I came across Dr. Beck’s BRILLIANT insight on having that ‘sabotaging deprivation mindset’ and what to say to yourself when it attacks:

“I’m going to be deprived, no matter what.  Either I’m going to be deprived of eating whatever I want at this special occasion OR I’m going to be deprived of being thinner, being healthier, feeling better about myself, being less self-conscious, being proud of myself, having more energy, and feeling good when the event is over.”

Isn’t that the truth?!  Isn’t that a powerful perspective to hold onto?!

 

Here’s another one concerning special occasions AND WEEKENDS:

“So why can’t you make exceptions?  The fact of the matter is our body processes calories in exactly the same way whether we are home or out, whether it’s a regular Monday or a holiday, whether we’re working or on vacation.  A calorie is a calorie, regardless of the situation in which you eat.  And if you make one exception, why not make more?…There are about 140 weekend days of a year, not to mention the numerous holidays, anniversaries, birthdays, showers, weddings, parties, restaurant meals, fairs, conferences, meetings, special occasions, and vacation days.”

Well ALL know that but have you ever looked at it in quite that way?  THERE ARE 140 WEEKEND DAYS A YEAR!  When I struggle to stay on plan over the weekend I NEVER looked at it through that perspective!  Dr. Beck doesn’t suggest NEVER allowing yourself to indulge in your favorite treats but rather to NEVER do it IF you haven’t planned in advance for it.  That means saying “No Thank You” to Bob’s birthday cake that ‘happens’ to turn up in the break room – at least, while trying to lose weight.  Once you are maintaining, though, she actually suggests eating one serving of a favorite treat each day (that way if you are having a mad craving you can tell yourself “I can have that tomorrow.”)

Okay, okay… here’s one last Dr. Beck “Nugget of Truth” regarding those moments of weakness when you actually DO fall off your plan and how to get quickly back on plan, as opposed the ‘ever-popular, self-sabotaging idea‘;  “I already blew the day so I might as well eat everything I can and start again tomorrow.”:

“Think about it this way:  If you got a ticket for running a red light, would you continue to run red lights for the rest of the day?  Would you say, I might as well run as many as I want and start again tomorrow?  Of course not!  You would stop at the very next red light you encountered.”

It’s not exactly an equal scenario but my mind still had an “Ah-haa Moment”!  I thought about some other similar situations, too.  If your child says a swear word is it okay for her to swear the rest of the day and start “behaving” again tomorrow?  If your dog has an accident on the floor do you let it continue to go on the floor until tomorrow?  If your son walks to school and arrives late on Monday is it okay for him to arrive late the rest of the week and then start arriving on time again NEXT Monday?  Why are we so rational and reasonable in other areas of our lives but allow ourselves to be so irrational and unreasonable (and sometimes just plain LAZY) when it comes to our eating?!

Now, so Dr. Beck doesn’t get mad at me for sharing 3 excerpts from her book – go out and buy one!! 

There are so many other helpful “Nuggets” in it!

******************************************

~ And thus concludes this non-profit advertisement for Dr. Judith Beck and her very wise The Beck Diet for Life book! 

Enjoy the Nuggets! – Angie

**

 

6 Responses to "Dr. Beck “Nuggets”"

I actually got this book, or one of her others (since I am not sure) from the library and started reading yesterday. I agree – there is some great wisdom in there. I enjoyed your post more than the book! Maybe you can summarize the whole thing for me:)

I do like that she is about changing how we think about eating and it works, in theory, with any diet plan.

Angie, I’m so very proud of you. YOU DID IT!!! 50 lbs is AMAZING. This blog is AMAZING and most importantly of all – YOU are AMAZING. Love you much!!

Angie, which Beck book are you reading? There are a few on Amazon…

Hi Rachel! I read the green book – The Complete Beck Diet for Life. The book has a lot of “exercises” to prepare yourself for the emotional aspects of losing weight along with a lot of great tips. I didn’t do most of the exercises in the beginning of the book as I had already gotten comfortable with a lot of the struggles they dealt with. One of the nice things about the book is how you can apply it to your own eating plan, although the end of the book does describe her eating program. There are some great menu ideas listing items by calories which I found helpful, too! ~ Hope you like it! – Angie

great advice! i love the exapmle of the red lights. so good! you are doing so well, keep it up! again, great advice, im going to think about those nuggets now!!
jocey 🙂

Those were great nuggets…worth its weight. I’m gonna bookmark this post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

