Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Then and N*O*W Photos Revealed!!

Posted on: April 14, 2010

Cleaning Out My Closet:

I’m throwing caution to the wind and getting rid of the “safety net” in my closet, ie… keeping the fat clothes in my closet “just in case”. I’m giving a nice pile to a friend, donating a nice pile, and THROWING AWAY an even larger pile! I find it very interesting that so many of the clothes in my closet, that I’ve been wearing or saving to wear, are items that I don’t even think are worth giving away!  That, I realize, is a consequence of not taking care of my body. Apparently, I didn’t care what I was putting IN it or ON it!  Shame on me!  Tsk, tsk!

My eyes are opened in so many wonderful ways now – I’m so happy for myself but also so sad for the friends and family I have that are overweight and don’t care. I know from experience that when someone you know loses weight and tries to convey how great they feel, especially to their overweight friends, that it just doesn’t compute… similar to how, as a sugar addict, I couldn’t imagine that one day my sweet tooth could be satisfied with fruit… The happiness, peace of mind, sense of pride, lifting of spirit, and overall sense of health that comes with losing weight is truly something you have to experience to understand. If those feelings could be bottled and “tasted”, JUST ONCE, – everyone would work at getting healthy!

************************************

 

Yummy Snack:

I’ve been eating this yummy snack lately and thought you might like it, too. Check out the fiber grams!!  It’s a nice calorie count for a snack, the fat is “healthy” from almonds – overall it has a good nutritional balance…

Tortilla Roll-Up-

1 Small (13.5 oz) 100% WW La Tortilla with 1 Tbls Almond Butter, 1 tsp slivered almonds, 3 inches of banana, 2 medium strawberries, and 1 Tbls ground flax seed Calories 255…Fat Grams 14.2 (45%)…Carb Grams 29.5 (40%)…Protein 11.4 (16%)…Fiber Grams 13.1

****************************************

 

Great quote:

Lyndsay made a guest post over at Trading Up Downtown and one line, in particular, really resonated with me –

“I realized that through all of those years, my food was consuming me when I should have been consuming my food.”

 Can I hear an “Amen!”?

****************************************

 

Lastly, this is Me.  Then and Now with 50 pounds gone! 

 

 

~ Angie  🙂

*

 

6 Responses to "Then and N*O*W Photos Revealed!!"

A picture is worth a thousand words! You look great!

Wow – love the photos!!!! What a wonderful difference. Congrats on getting rid of so many clothes.

Wow! Great photos! You look awesome!

I recently cleaned out my closet as well but keep forgetting to take a picture of the Goodwill piles…right now I’m enjoying looking at the piles knowing most of the clothes are too big on me!

What a difference in your photos! Rock on! And I love that snack idea – holy fiber!!!

Rock On! You look great!

I love the fact that you are getting rid of your “safety net.” There’s nothing too safe about keeping clothes in your closet that make it too easy to forget about your new healthy lifestyle. The best thing I ever did when I lost 100lbs was to close the boutique – the 8-10 sizes in there had to go. Keep up the great work!

Wow, You look fantastic!!! I remember a few postings ago you mentioned people around you hadn’t noticed or at least hadn’t said anything. Well…try not to let it get to you because obviously all your fans following your blog can see an amazing difference! Congratulations and keep it up, your lifestyle changes are very inspiring to me.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

