Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

It Ain’t Been Pretty on the Isla Lately

Posted on: May 6, 2010

I’m really losing in the struggle to get back on plan.  I see it.  I’m aware of the lame mind games I’m playing with myself. 

I wake up with determination and by early evening… 

I realize I’m trying to fill an intangible hunger with something tangible (food).  I really realize this.  Realizing it doesn’t make understanding it and overcoming it any easier, though. 

I’ve gained 10 pounds.

I’ve gained 10 pounds.

!$%^#@!!

********************************************

 

 

13 Responses to "It Ain’t Been Pretty on the Isla Lately"

How I know the feeling!! I spent all of last month feeling ravenously hungry and never being able to eat anything that would satisy that hunger. Just keep going day by day.

Sometimes it’s not pretty. Been there, done that, have a closet full of the t-shirts. We all slip up sometimes. The important thing is to keep moving forward, and to quote some cartoon my kid watches, “don’t stop don’t give up!”

You are not alone! I have struggled too lately and really wondered what it is that is behind my eating. Hugs.

I can relate to all those pics. I just went on a walk and am dying. I know I am sick, but I feel like a shlub. I am going to try not to keep eating so much food, and focus on proportion and quality. I wish you well.

Is there any way I can help? Would being accountable to someone for your food help? Would somewhere to safely dump your stuff help? how can we help Angie? I am inclined to take ‘you can’t help’ as a non answer, there must be a somehow in there somewhere.

Blue~

Hang in there, Angie! I’ve found myself slipping up recently as well…looks like there are a bunch of us dealing with that. Maybe it’s the weather? Anyways, try not to let it get you down…pick up your good habits again one at a time! And you know where to find me if you need someone to talk/vent to!

Over what period of time have you gained ten pounds? Have you sustained an injury or are you having some sort of pain that makes exercise difficult? Are you still attending your yoga classes? Are your kids still supportive of you? How is the balance with the rest of your life? (I think I remember you saying that when you are gung-ho on the exercise and give it lots of effort, that sometimes you don’t feel you have enough time with your kids or for your home.)

I don’t know if it will work for you, but I have made a pact with myself that I will allow for slip-ups and temporary setbacks as long as I never rebound more than ten pounds. I have been a yo-yo dieter several times over the years, and with this recent journey I’m on, it has been helpful to me to keep in mind the ten pounds I do not want to surpass. I know that if I gain more than 10 pounds, I’ll probably end up putting most or all of it back on, and I just refuse to allow that.

Now, this advice comes at a difficult time, since it is 10 pounds that you have recently gained. But, If you start right now and tell yourself you won’t let yourself gain ten more (or five, or whatever), perhaps you might be able to use the same strategy?

Angie,
How upsetting for you! I’ve been there…like I just can’t stop. There are no easy answers, are there? I hope whatever needs to change within you changes before 10 becomes 20. I let 10 become 100…

Angie,

Hang in there. As everyone has said…you are not alone. I remember when I first removed 100 pounds and I saw some creep back on, and I thought, “here it comes again.” STOP THE BUS. 10 doesn’t equal 100. It is hard though.

I’m heavier right now than I have been since losing the weight, but I refuse to let this get the best of me. I started thinking about what was different when I first started losing weight – what actions was I taking and why did it feel easier then than now?

I also needed to figure out what was eating me???

You can do this. You are making changes in your life that will benefit you forever. If you are anything like me, you may have struggled with this crap for a really long time, and it may take a long time to get it right…but you can do it girlfriend!

is it in the air? I’ve been doing the same thing. Went up a pound last week and this week was too chicken to even get on the scale to see how much I gained. I too vow to get back on the wagon…today is mothers day (happy day to all moms out there) and I SWEAR tomorrow I’m back on. Little voice says “will I really?” Want to throw up at the thought of losing ground. Hang in there, you are strong (obviously), you WILL get back on track. Start now.

My face could easily be substituted in any of those pictures. I relate to all of them…wait, let me check…Yes, all of them, even the one with chocolate all over her face. ( I used to take the huge-sized dark-chocolate Hershey bars and dip them into a cup of hot cocoa then lick the melted chocolate off. I once caught a glimpse of myself doing that…scary mess. )

I’ve gain 7 pounds since my last weigh-in (24th). What is going on with all of us? You’re not crazy nor alone.

I’m trying to hold on to the positive changes I’ve made even though some bad eating habits still linger. You root for me, I’ll root for you… 🙂 (hug) You can get through this.

I’ve been missing you around blog world. How are you doing? I hope and pray that you are hanging in there.

I wish you light.

Man, I could swear something is going around…it seems a lot of the bloggers I read are in similar situations. Just know that you have people here to support you, no matter how down you feel. I think that’s one thing that’s kept me going, even when I’ve slipped for a month at a time.

You’ve done amazing things so far, and I know you can bounce back.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

