Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Goodbye Summer, Welcome Back Routine!

Posted on: August 25, 2011

Hello, Routine – Oh how I’ve missed you!

My summer was a whirlwind of highs and lows with WAY TOO much travel and a severe lack of a regular schedule.  I think I handled it all pretty well but was unable to keep up with many of the new-formed habits I had been working on prior to summer that helped keep me centered.  As of Sunday, though, I feel like I’m Back!  Whoo-hoo!

The kids have gotten a smooth, organized start to the new school year and I’ve jumped back into a healthy schedule with my focus simple:  Eat Better, Move More… No extravagant weight loss plans.  No demanding goals. No long to-do lists.  No Stepping on the scale.  Simply Eat Better, Move More.  I’m excited by the start I’ve had since Sunday.  Here are the highlights:

  • On Sunday I prepared some healthy food for the upcoming week
  • I also made nine school lunches to get the kids through Wednesday
  • I caught up on the laundry and main floor vacuuming
  • I Ate Better and Moved More
  • I spent some quality time with J (which had been lacking recently)
  • I spent 4 hours at the baseball field with S
  • I filled my weekly medicine container with daily meds and vitamins (and took them for 4 days in a row!)
  • I went to bed with a clean kitchen (I LOVE waking to a clean kitchen!)
  • I went to bed at a reasonable time

****************************************************

  • On Monday I woke up to help the kids get off to school AND stayed up (a big challenge for me)
  • I finally sat down and figured out our budget to discuss with J
  • I finally went to get my blood drawn to follow-up on my last cholesterol scores
  • I returned some things to Wal-Mart
  • I picked up some library books that were on hold for me
  • I Ate Better and Moved More
  • Our main floor tv isn’t working so I enjoyed the quiet and listened to some of my favorite iTunes music (made for a relaxing and productive day)
  • I had healthy smoothies ready for the kids after school
  • I made a tasty Orange Chicken Crock Pot meal for dinner (I need to do this more regularly than I did during our hectic summer – the budget DEMANDS it!)
  • I helped the kids with homework and to get ready for the next day (BEFORE I was too tired to do it calmly)
  • During M’s baseball practice I took a nice walk through the neighborhood and park
  • I read Valerie Bertinelli’s Autobiography, Losing It, the whole book little by little during the day (It was an enjoyable, inspirational quick read)
  • I, again, went to bed at a reasonable time

****************************************************

  • On Tuesday I woke up to help the kids get off to school AND stayed up (still a big challenge for me, haha)
  • The day was a little cooler and rainy so I opened the windows (I prefer the air conditioning but acted financially responsible)
  • This is the BIG ONE I organized the craft room and threw out 7 bags of garbage/clutter and boxed up 2 large boxes of supplies, that I wouldn’t have used, to send to my aunt who WILL use them
  • I made dinner and left the kitchen sparkling clean
  • I listened to 2 chapters of The Shack while I cleaned
  • I Ate Better and Moved More (no exercise but the craft room made me sweat and left me sore!)
  • I read Valerie Bertinelli’s Autobiography, Finding It, the whole book little by little during the day (It was not as interesting as Finding It, but still enjoyable.  She lost 40 pounds and re-focused her life at age 48 which really encourages me, at age 42)
  • I didn’t spend ANY money today!
  • I helped the kids with homework and to get ready for the next day (BEFORE I was too tired to do it calmly)
  • I, again, went to bed at a reasonable time

****************************************************

  • On Wednesday I woke up to help the kids get off to school AND stayed up (STILL a big challenge for me, haha)
  • I BLOGGED
  • I made an appointment to see my counselor (something I hadn’t been able to keep up during the summer)
  • I worked on cleaning and organizing the computer room (file cabinet, drawers, bookshelves, AND cupboards). I’m 3/4 of the way done and threw out 7 bags of “stuff”, a broken table, and put an old lamp in my van to donate!!
  • I Ate Better and Moved More
  • I called my Mom (I’m not the best at keeping in touch…)
  • I made use of leftovers for dinner
  • Went to M’s baseball game
  • Listened to more of The Shack while I cleaned
  • Started reading The Untethered Soul
  • Went to bed at a reasonable time with a clean kitchen

I feel very proud of the great start I gotten off to but am fully aware that days will come that aren’t as productive as the last 4 have been.  I will not beat myself up and guilt myself about it.  I’m feeling capable, energized, calm, and excited for what’s next.  It’s a very good feeling!

*************************************************************

Pinterest

I’ve found a very fun website, Pinterest, that I’m enjoying very much (but not letting it take over all of my free time (and some of my not-free time!) as I normally would with something sort of addictive).  It’s a site that lets you create virtual cork boards, by theme, of pictures and the links of items you like.  Some of my categories are Crafts, Recipes, Rainbows, Inspirational Exercise Thoughts, Quotes, Trees, etc…  Each “board” feels like an individual Vision Board.  You are able to look through other people’s boards and the really cool part is that you are able to “pin” items from anywhere on the web.  It’s fun for someone who has a tendency to collect things.  A few of the quotes I’ve collected:

  • If you are depressed you are living in the past.  If you are anxious you are living in the future.  If you are at peace you are living in the present.
  • If you don’t like something, change it.  If you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.
  • Do not reward yourself with food.  You are not a dog.
  • Don’t give up what you want most for what you want at the moment.
  • Judging a person does not define who they are.  It defines who you are.

And my favorite –

  • What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday…

Good stuff, huh?

***************************************

Well, that’s where I’ve been and where I am today.  I’m off to Eat Better and Move More!

Angie  *

2 Responses to "Goodbye Summer, Welcome Back Routine!"

Embrace your 4 very productive days and think back to them when you aren’t being so productive so you can remind yourself that some days are for being productive and some aren’t 🙂

Welcome back! I’m happy to see your goal of Eat Better, Move More because when it gets down to it, that’s exactly what we all need to do!

Welcome back! I’ve been absent from blogging this summer. It was crazy! Now that all kids are in school full time, I can have time to focus on health issues and blogging.

I love those quotes. The last two are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

