Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

A Thought That Has Me Thinking

Posted on: August 26, 2011

Suddenly I Get It

Isn’t it funny how you can hear something, maybe many times before, but it just doesn’t resonate with you?  That happened to me this week.  I stumbled upon this saying that I’M SURE I’ve heard before:

~ Don’t Let Go of What You Want Most

for What You Want Right Now ~

Well, Duh!  Right?  But here I am – drowning in debt, with a long list of “REALLY need and REALLY want” that aren’t in the budget, wondering how in the world we’re going to send our kids to college, driving a 12 year-old van that could die any moment, AND carrying an extra 80 pounds all because I’m a sucker for what I want RIGHT NOW.  I think part of my failure in this area is that I don’t have my deepest desires written down, in a place where I see them often, in a place where the family can see them often, and in a place where I can see them when I’m passing Dunkin’ Donuts.  I’m so moved by this saying that I’m seriously considering tattooing it to my inner wrist!  I wouldn’t be able to forget it about it then, huh?

Yes, I think at age 42 it’s time to get a tattoo that will be meaningful for the rest of my life… I wonder what J would think?!  He’s not a tattoo fan, yet I KNOW he’d love it if I lived in the neighborhood of that motto.  Tomorrow is our 17th wedding anniversary.  That just doesn’t seem possible – I don’t feel like I’m old enough to have been married for 17 years.  I mean, just this week my eyes were opened to such a simple concept:

~ Don’t Let Go of What You Want Most

for What You Want Right Now ~

Surely a 42 year-old woman who has been married for 17 years should have realized THAT before now!  Well, there’s always that other great concept – “better now than never”.  I’m not as moved by that one, though!  Ha, ha!

******************************************

Here’s to another day of Eating Better and Moving More…

~ Angie ~

2 Responses to "A Thought That Has Me Thinking"

Awww….Happy Anniversary!

We live in a world of instant EVERYTHING so this motto is a fabulous one to try and live by. In all aspects of life!

Hi Rachel! I haven’t been by your blog in a long time (I haven’t visited anyone’s blog in a long time!! 🙂 ). What is your link again?

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

