Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Steps in the Right Direction

Posted on: August 27, 2011

They’re Baby Steps but They’re Steps!

I caught myself being nice to myself today.  🙂  My inner conversations aren’t always kind (whose are?) and today I heard myself “sticking up to myself” if that makes sense… I’ve had a great week of keeping things in perspective – not setting myself up to fail – celebrating the small steps I’ve begun to take – and not letting my energy fall when I made a less than desirable decision.  I’ve already shared some of my earlier accomplishments this week but this “being nice to myself” went a little deeper than just the physical accomplishments.  For example:

One of my boards on Pinterest is a Vision Board containing pictures of emotions I’d like to feel – like success, pride, or pictures that I want to experience the emotion the picture depicts or inspires in me.  Here is one such picture:

Confidence

Confidence

She is considered a plus-sized model.  I think her figure is gorgeous and her confidence is something to aspire to.  I long to feel as comfortable in my skin as she seems to in hers which made me realize that my true weight loss desires aren’t unrealistic.  What I mean is that I’m not longing to be stick thin.  I’m longing to be healthy, confident, and comfortable.  AND I’m now willing to take the journey as the marathon it is and not the sprint I once felt it had to be.  That observation and acceptance of it is one of the ways I am being kinder to myself.  I’ve released how unrealistic the dream of returning to my weight 18 years ago, before kids (ridiculous, I know), was and how what I truly desire to reach is a comfortable, sustainable weight.  I don’t even have to put a number on what that weight is – I think I’ll just know when I’m there and it will fall on a number that I can sustain without it having to control my life (ie… how much to eat, when to eat, carbs vs protein, excessive working out etc…). 

Another couple of baby steps in the right direction happened with my simple goals of Eat Better and Move More.  In both of those actions the key words are Better and More.  Both of which are obtainable because they don’t restrict my behavior to having to be perfect or else chalking it up to an automatic fail.  So this week I made the kids Rice Crispie treats to go in their lunches.  I used a square pan, took a half-inch sliver down one side for myself, and then cut the rest into 9 squares (3 for each of them during the week).  I wrapped mine up telling myself that if I wanted it tomorrow I could eat it – no guilt.  Well, I didn’t want it the next day, or the next, and 3 days later I sent it to school with my son.  I felt no deprivation because I knew I could have had it whenever I wanted it.  Later in the week I made caramel, white chocolate, toffee, and pecan covered apples.  Yum.  I, again, didn’t jump at the instant gratification and told myself I could have one later in the evening if I still wanted it.  Well, I did still want it. I ate half of it.  I ate it slowly. I enjoyed it.  I was fully satisfied after half and THAT was a much Better choice than eating a whole one.  Better = SuccessComplete Deprivation = Failure.

As far as Moving More – I would like to do “something” physical for 20 minutes a day – I can do anything for 20 minutes, right? Walking seems like a good start but I only did it once this week… BUT I did do a lot of physical work, cleaning, organizing, and sweating in the house 3 days this week.  I moved “More” and didn’t limit the “More” to having to be walking in order for it to be a success.  I also encouraged myself to do just 1 More thing everyday while I was working.  If I was ready to quit I told myself, just one more drawer or fold that last load in the dryer… basically just do 1 more thing.  More = SuccessHAVING to do 20 minutes of typical exercise or else = Failure

*****************************************

Those are just a few instances in which I found myself being kind to myself by not holding myself accountable to a level of perfection that is unobtainable and certainly unsustainable.  I’m very proud of this week’s baby steps.  Yeah, Me.  Eat Better.  Move More.  I don’t see how I can fail to improve my life if I keep doing those two very simple things…  Eat Better.  Move More.

~  Angie ~

2 Responses to "Steps in the Right Direction"

Baby steps are the best kind 🙂

Thanks for the nice comment! Glad that there are people in the world that can completely and 100% understand so I’m glad we’ll be able to keep in touch and try to motivate each other! WE CAN DO IT!! We can get back on track and lose the weight that we already know how to lose!! Ohh and Pinterest is completely addicting and I spend ATLEAST an hour looking at each day! Guess there is ONE reason that I can’t lose the weight! I’m too busy pinning! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

