Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Walk This Way… (yeah, I sang it…)

Posted on: September 1, 2011

Walking

So, I’ve been walking.  I figure if I’m going to do it I should get as much out of it as I can so I googled “walking tips”.  Considering that walking is a pretty basic action for most of us, there’s way more info out there than I expected (entire websites!).  I did pick up a few good tips and realized that I was doing a couple of things “wrong”.

~ A Few Walking Tips ~

  • Chin up with your eyes forward, not looking down.
  • Shrug once and let your shoulders fall and relax, then roll your shoulders slightly back and down.
  • Keep your stomach tight – as if you are bracing for a punch but don’t hold your breath.
  • A controlled arm motion can lend power to your walking, burning 5-10% more calories.
  • Bend your elbow 90 degrees.  Hands should be loose in a partially closed curl, never clenched. 
  • Keep your elbows close to your body – don’t “chicken wing” (like speed walkers in movies).
  • Avoid overstriding, which is taking longer steps to increase speed. Overstriding is inefficient.
  • Rather than lengthening your stride, to increase your speed, take more and smaller steps instead.
  • While walking, your forward leg has no power – the back leg is what is driving you forward.
  • Pay attention to get the full power out of the push from the back leg and make sure your foot is rolling through the step from heel to toe.
  • It’s very important to cool down after walking.  Simply slow your pace to lower your heart rate and return your breathing to normal. 
  • Stretching is equally important after your walk.  Spend 5-10 minutes stretching your large muscles.

Curves Simple Stretching Guide

Curves Cool Down Stretches

Those are the tips I found helpful – BUT I AM NOT A DOCTOR, nor do I play one on tv.  I found that while I was walking if I did a “mental head to toe scan” that I kept finding areas that needed improvement (such as my shoulders weren’t back or my abs weren’t tight, etc…) Later in the evening I could really “feel” the difference that following those tips made.  My abs felt as if I’d done a lot of sit ups for one thing!  I know that by making those adjustments that it helped me to burn more calories than I would have otherwise. 

*******************************

Moving More and getting More out of it!

~ Angie ~

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

