Isla de Angela ~ gaining inner peace, losing extra weight

Whoooooosh! Blowing the dust off my blog!!

Posted on: June 10, 2015

What’s a Couple Years Between Posts?

So let’s see… 2 1/2 years ago my last post was about quitting.  Basically, I ended up quitting EVERYTHING!!  I’ve dealt with depression for over 20 years now but by the summer of 2013 I was at an all time LOOOoooooowww. Way too low to blog then, or even reminisce about now, but since then I’ve been working my way back into rejoining life and am in a better place now.  Some things have changed (my job, my medications :)), some things have remained (my weight – UGH!, and the desire to lose some and feel better) and I once again feel like I have something to share with the blogging world!  Maybe something I have to say will reach someone out there that needs to hear it?  That would be really cool.

Summer Vacation!

Today is Day 10 of my 71-day summer vacation!  I’m a school bus driver.  I just finished my second school year and I wish I would have started years ago!  Having 71 days off during summer AND getting paid (granted only half through unemployment – but still…) is awesome!  Seriously, it’s awesome!  Even dealing with the handful of unpleasant middle school boys during the school year was worth it.  TOTALLY worth it.  We have lots of summer plans but at the top of the list… drum roll please… losing weight!  Wah, wah, waaaa!  So lame, I know, but my years of unhealthy choices have left 2 of my 3 children struggling with their weight now.  Yes, I’m kicking myself and I feel horrible that my bad choices are effecting them in this way.  I can’t dwell on those thoughts, though, as they don’t help anyone (and who out there hasn’t messed up their kids a little bit? – we ALL have our issues and NONE of us are perfect).  All I can do is try to do better, try to teach them to make better choices, and show them that they can be successful IF THEY WANT IT BAD ENOUGH.  Right?  Right.

Losing Weight Version 2015

Well, I had some success with Weight Watchers and truly enjoyed the comraderie of going to meetings with other loser-wannabees but my boys are 14 and 19… not exactly prime candidates for counting points.  I KNOW Weight Watchers offer a way of following the program without counting points (Focusing on Power Foods) but that’s basically a low-carb diet soooooooo I think, as a team, the 3 of us will be more successful focusing on learning and living a low-carb lifestyle.  My husband already does and my daughter is a volleyball phenom that works out constantly and can eat whatever she wants – so low-carb works for them, too.

We just started this week and I want to keep track of our progress so dusting off the blog felt like a good place to do that.  I’ve chosen to start off with The Fat Fast (Dana Carpender’s Fat Fast Book) just so our bodies will turn from burning sugar for fuel into burning fat for fuel faster and, therefore, the boys will see results a little sooner.  We’re on day 3 of 5 and have all seen some loss (yes, some of which is water loss, I know) but it is not super easy to go from eating a plethora of crap carbs to eating next to no carbs!  Saturday can’t get here fast enough!  We’re having steak and shrimp with salad.  We’re ALL dreaming of it!!  Drool, drool.

I’ve done low-carb before and one of the side effects was that I often felt euphoric!  So whoo hoo!  Bring on the euphoria!!  Updates to follow!

Eating Better, Moving More

~ Angie ~

Glad to be back!!

1 Response to "Whoooooosh! Blowing the dust off my blog!!"

Wow – welcome back! Long time so hear. Glad to hear you’re back at it.

Leave a Reply

________* * ANGIE * *________



They say that muscle is heavier "by volume" than fat is, which means 5 lbs. of muscle takes up less space than 5 lbs. of fat within a body. I'm a believer. This totally explains how your clothes begin to fit better even though the numbers on the scale aren' t moving very fast.



This is GROSS. I know. But I'd rather see the fat HERE than on my body...


Each time we “resist” an urge to fall off plan or not exercise we strengthen our “resistance muscle” and each time we “give in” to temptation we strengthen our “give in muscle” making it easier to either "resist" or "give in" next time.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Previous Thoughts & Meanderings

